Buy One, Get One 50% Off Our Monthly Picks!
Shop Now
Viridian System Sampler: 8 Short Stories

Viridian System Sampler: 8 Short Stories

by Jemima Pett

NOOK Book(eBook)


Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details


This anthology of eight short stories starts with what turns out to be the genesis of the Viridian System series, a science fiction adventure starring two asteroid miners, Big Pete and the Swede.

Each comes with an explanation of how the story came about - most are in response to an online flash fiction prompt. As the weekly exercises continued, so two characters demanded to be heard, developing their motivations, interests, and exploring the world, or system, in which they live. These short stories tend to have twists and narrow escapes that might not be sustainable in the series. Zito, who runs a bar and an escort agency on the primary planet, Pleasant Valley, features large in these tasters. Later ones include back story, and first appearances of characters who became important to the series.

The story titles in the second (2017) edition are:

The Orichalcum Library
The Appeal of Alpha Kenworthy (new)
Disappearing Act
Auburn Moon, Vermilion Tides
The Coprolite Conundrum (new)
The White Rose of York (new)
The Inspector Calls (new)

This sampler gives science fiction readers a taster of the series, in advance of the re-issue of The Perihelix, book 1 of the Viridian System series. Book 2 is also in preparation.

Please note that this sampler may be revised to include different stories from time to time. You should be able to update your copy to the latest version from your purchase site.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

BN ID: 2940152123470
Publisher: Princelings Publications
Publication date: 09/28/2015
Sold by: Smashwords
Format: NOOK Book
File size: 364 KB

About the Author

Jemima Pett has been living in a world of her own for many years. Writing stories since she was eight, drawing maps of fantasy islands with train systems and timetables at ten. Unfortunately no-one wanted a fantasy island designer, so she tried a few careers, getting great experiences in business, environmental research and social work. She finally got back to building her own worlds, and wrote about them. Her business background enabled her to become an independent author, responsible for her own publications.

Her first series, the Princelings of the East, mystery adventures for advanced readers set in a world of tunnels and castles entirely populated by guinea pigs, is now complete. The tenth and final book, Princelings Revolution, came out in October 2020. Jemima does chapter illustrations for these. She has also edited two volumes of Christmas stories for young readers, the BookElves Anthologies, and her father's memoirs White Water Landings, about the Imperial Airways flying boat service in Africa. She has compiled four collections of flash fiction tales, publishing in the first half of 2021. She is now writing the third in her science fiction series set in the Viridian System, in which the aliens include sentient trees.

Jemima lived in a village in Norfolk with her guinea pigs, the first of whom, Fred, George, Victor and Hugo, provided the inspiration for her first stories, The Princelings of the East. She is now living in Hampshire, writing science fiction for grown-ups, hatching plans for a new series, and writing more short stories for anthologies.

Customer Reviews