Visible City

Visible City

by Tova Mirvis
3.0 4

Hardcover

$22.20 $24.00 Save 8% Current price is $22.2, Original price is $24. You Save 8%.
View All Available Formats & Editions

Temporarily Out of Stock Online

Eligible for FREE SHIPPING

Overview

Visible City by Tova Mirvis

For fans of Meg Wolitzer and Allegra Goodman, an intimate and provocative novel about three couples whose paths intersect in their New York City neighborhood, forcing them all to weigh the comfort of stability against the costs of change.

Nina is a harried young mother who spends her evenings spying on the older couple across the street through her son’s Fisher-Price binoculars. She is drawn to their quiet contentment—reading on the couch, massaging each other’s feet—so unlike her own lonely, chaotic world of nursing and soothing and simply getting by. One night, through that same window, she spies a young couple in the throes of passion. Who are these people, and what happened to her symbol of domestic bliss?

In the coming weeks, Nina encounters the older couple, Leon and Claudia, their daughter Emma and her fiancé, and many others on the streets of her Upper West Side neighborhood, eroding the safe distance of her secret vigils. Soon anonymity gives way to different—and sometimes dangerous—forms of intimacy, and Nina and her neighbors each begin to question their own paths.

With enormous empathy and a keen observational eye, Tova Mirvis introduces a constellation of characters we all know: twenty-somethings unsure about commitments they haven’t yet made; thirty-somethings unsure about the ones they have; and sixty-somethings whose empty nest causes all sorts of doubt. Visible City invites us to examine those all-important forks in the road, and the conflict between desire and loyalty.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780544047747
Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Publication date: 03/18/2014
Pages: 256
Product dimensions: 5.80(w) x 8.40(h) x 1.10(d)

About the Author

TOVA MIRVIS is the author of  three novels:Visible CityThe Outside World, and The Ladies Auxiliary, a national bestseller. Her essays have appeared in various publications, including the New York Times, the Boston Globe Magazine, the Huffington Post, and Poets and Writers, and her fiction has been broadcast on NPR. She lives in Newton, Massachusetts.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Visible City 3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 4 reviews.
phyllishoffman More than 1 year ago
This is a multi-layered story of ordinary people who live in an extraordinary city. Mirvis's characters are well drawn and they move the story along brilliantly. I totally enjoyed the read. Phyllis Hoffman
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The story is ok but the writing is mediocre; some of it forced and awkward. I judge a book by how it moves me. This book didn't; it didn't make me cry or laugh.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Visible City is one of the most boring, dreary books I have ever attempted to read. The concept of the novel is interesting: a lonely, over whelmed young mother watches her New York neighbors through their apartment windows. Over time, the neighbors she is watching become intertwined into her own life. However, the concept is lost in the author's inability to connect the reader with the characters. The people in this novel are bitter, unkind, and unlikeable. I failed to find anything interesting in their whining, self-pitying complaints and trite problems. I did not feel empathy with the characters or curiosity with the story line . The author's point of view and the writing itself is stilted and lacks color and believability. I read half the book and gave up. There are too may worthier books to read. Try Casebook ( Mona Simpson), Family Life (Sharma), or Love and Treasure (Waldman) for books that enchant and enthrall.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
In Visible City, Tova Mirvis explores what happens when anonymity is shattered by visibility in a bustling New York City neighborhood. Her fascinating characters lives intertwine in ways that allow them to explore the cost of sacrificing comfort for intrigue and to ultimately learn as much or more about themselves than they do about their neighbors. Masterfully written and too captivating to put down, Ms. Mirvis' third novel exceeds the high expectations set by her first two works. I highly recommend.