Vivaldi: The French Connection 2

Vivaldi: The French Connection 2

by La Serenissima

CD(Jewel Case)

$17.09 $17.99 Save 5% Current price is $17.09, Original price is $17.99. You Save 5%.
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Thursday, October 25?   Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Shipping at checkout.


Vivaldi: The French Connection 2

British historical-instrument group La Serenissima has issued Vivaldi recordings that emerge from the crowd in several respects. They include unusual repertory: The French Connection 2 contains two world-premiere recordings: one a completed new version of an existing concerto (the "Flute Concerto Il Gran Mogol in A minor, RV 431a"), and the other a terrific, recently unearthed late work (the "Violin Concerto in B flat major, RV 365"). They find thematic connections within Vivaldi's mostly abstract instrumental repertory. The "French Connection" aspect here may be a little forced in that the French features of the works here are not of coherent kinds, and include such miscellaneous connections as the fact that the "RV 431a" concerto was written on French music paper. Mostly the French Connection involves the use of a dotted overture or dance rhythm, both of which can be found in other Vivaldi works. No matter. This is an unusually exciting collection of Vivaldi concertos. A third distinctive feature of La Serenissima's playing is its relative smoothness, avoiding the gutsy (literally) attacks of some of the leading Italian bands. Whether you prefer this is a matter of taste, but it works beautifully in this diverse set of pieces, setting off the extreme virtuosity of bassoonist Peter Whelan and flutist Katy Bircher. Whelan is a real standout, with a unique delicate-quick vibrato in the slow movement of the "Bassoon Concerto in C major, RV 473." Director Adrian Chandler has a feel for the two small concertos for strings and continuo (about which there is nothing very French at all), with their highly original treatments of their solo violin parts, and the "RV 365" concert is a major find, a sizable example of Vivaldi's experimentation late in life with what would come to be recognized as proto-Classical style. Highly recommended, lacking any sort of dull moment.

Product Details

Release Date: 06/14/2011
Label: Avie
UPC: 0822252221824
catalogNumber: 2218
Rank: 83736


  1. Chamber Concerto ("La notte"), for flute or violin, 2 violins, bassoon & continuo in G minor, RV 104
  2. Concerto for strings & continuo in G major, RV 150
  3. Flute Concerto, for flute, strings & continuo in E minor, RV 431
  4. Bassoon Concerto, for bassoon, strings & continuo in C major, RV 473
  5. Flute Concerto, for flute, strings & continuo in A Minor, RV 440
  6. Double Concerto, for violin & oboe (in unison), strings & continuo in F major, RV 543
  7. Concerto for strings & continuo in E minor, RV 133
  8. Violin Concerto, for violin, strings & continuo in B flat major, RV 365
  9. Concerto for strings & continuo in D minor, RV 127

Album Credits

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews