Vivaldi's Lost Concerto

Vivaldi's Lost Concerto

by Jennifer Mackenzie Dunbar

Paperback

$15.00
View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details

Overview

Vivaldi’s Lost Concerto is inspired by the 2010 discovery of a Vivaldi flute concerto in the archives of a medieval Scottish Abbey and is an historical mystery with a contemporary parallel story, intertwining romantic settings with clear eyed social realism.

Having survived a brutal prison term Fiona Sinclair, a recovering drug addict, begins the road to recovery, clinging desperately to one fragile link to her past – the music of Scotland. Given a battered flute by her music therapist, Teresa, Fiona begins to build the confidence she needs to become the woman she wants to be. By chance she hears a flute concerto that has only recently been discovered and is stunned to realise she already knows the tune.

Her research takes her, and the reader, into the desperate and dangerous lives of Vivaldi’s housekeeper Paolina Giro, who is also his secret lover, and Lord Robert Kerr, the purchaser of the concerto - a gay man trying to escape his father's brutal demands that he fight against his fellow country men - the Jacobites.

The novel is a mystery about love, music and family secrets. Set in romantic locations, it explores the lives of marginalised groups such as prisoners, isolated women and gay men, through themes of desparation and hope, isolation and friendship. A sountrack of baroque and traditional Scottish music weaves through the novel, celebrating the healing power of music. It will appeal to readers of Kate Morton, Geraldine Brooks, Tracy Chevalier and Diane Gabaldon.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780648504313
Publisher: Jennifer MacKenzie
Publication date: 06/14/2019
Pages: 260
Product dimensions: 6.00(w) x 9.00(h) x 0.59(d)

About the Author

Jennifer writes novels and short stories that draw on her love of history, music and Celtic mythology. Using parallel narratives she intertwines the present with the past and explores the gaps left within conventional historical accounts by focussing on the stories previously left untold. Her other career, as a Social Worker in the Criminal Justice system and Women's Health, provides her with a rich source for developing her characters as they confront issues of marginalisation, sexual abuse, domestic violence, drug use and family dysfunction. Jennifer has a Bachelor of Arts in English Literature, Sociology and Social Work. She has completed many creative writing courses with Australian Writers Centre and SA Writers. When not writing fiction she enjoys delving into her own family's past as an amateur Genealogist and enjoying the beaches and wineries close to her home in the Adelaide Hills, South Australia.

Customer Reviews