$13.29 $13.99 Save 5% Current price is $13.29, Original price is $13.99. You Save 5%.


Previously released as Night Music 2, Vocalise is one in a series of albums for relaxation and contemplation. The pieces, ostensibly chosen for their slow tempi and gentle lyricism, are above average in terms of selection and performance, and may be of much greater interest than as mere background music. As a sampler of the many fine offerings in the Naxos catalog, this engaging disc offers a sophisticated introduction to pieces seldom included on similar adagio compilations. While some chestnuts are included, such as the Andante from Tchaikovsky's "Swan Lake" and Rachmaninov's "Vocalise," the selections are otherwise a little off the beaten path. The Andante from Haydn's "Symphony No. 96 (Miracle)," the Andante from Beethoven's "Piano Concerto No. 4," and the Largo from Handel's "Concerto Grosso, Op. 6/4," are especially welcome for a change of pace. Also gratifying is the variety of styles and ensembles -- which range from Baroque to Romantic and from solo piano to full orchestra -- yet the program is arranged to flow smoothly from one piece to the next without jarring contrasts of volume or mood. On the whole, this is one of the more inviting collections in the series, serving exceptional fare to newcomers and experienced listeners alike.

Product Details

Release Date: 09/01/2001
Label: Naxos
UPC: 0730099660228
catalogNumber: 8556602


  1. The Swan Lake, ballet, Op. 20: Andante

    1. Andante  (06:45)
  2. Piano Sonata No. 12 in F major, K. 332 (K. 300k): Adagio

    1. Adagio  (05:23)
  3. Violin Concerto, for violin, strings & continuo in E major ("La Primavera," The Four Seasons; "Il cimento" No. 1), Op.8/1, RV 269: Largo

    1. Largo  (02:42)
  4. Symphony No. 96 in D major ("Miracle"), H. 1/96: Andante

    1. Andante  (05:08)
  5. Piano Concerto No. 4 in G major, Op. 58: Andante

    1. Andante  (05:40)
  6. Vocalise, transcription for piano, Op. 34/14  (07:13)
  7. Peer Gynt Suite for orchestra (or piano or piano, 4 hands) No. 2, Op. 55: Solveig's Song

    1. Solveig's Song  (04:37)
  8. Water Music Suites Nos 1-3 for orchestra, HWV 348-350: Adagio

    1. Adagio  (03:06)
  9. String Quartet, L. 85 (Op. 10): Andantino

    1. Andantino  (07:59)
  10. Concerto for flute, harp & orchestra in C major, K. 299 (K. 297c): Andantino

    1. Andantino  (07:35)
  11. Concerto Grosso in A minor, Op.6/4, HWV 322: Largo

    1. Largo  (02:36)
  12. Work(s): [Unspecified] Moment Musical

    1. [Unspecified] Moment Musical  (05:47)
  13. A Midsummer Night's Dream, incidental music, Op. 61: Notturno

    1. Notturno  (06:25)

Customer Reviews