Vulture Street

Vulture Street

by Powderfinger


$17.09 $17.99 Save 5% Current price is $17.09, Original price is $17.99. You Save 5%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, August 29


The opening notes of this album have a great rock flavor to them, recalling Primal Scream circa Rocks, or early Rolling Stones on the playful "Rockin' Rocks." Led by the guitars of Bernard Fanning and Ian Haug, the chorus seems to stall a bit in its jerky arrangement, but settles back into a fine groove. This continues on the tight and impressive "(Baby I've Got You) On My Mind" which sounds very close to the Stereophonics rehashing old-school rock for a contemporary feeling. A blues opening on "Since You've Been Gone" leads into an uplifting gospel-tinged effort, ambling along beautifully in the heartfelt vein of the Black Crowes or Wide Mouth Mason. And the ragged nature to this album is its greatest selling point, providing and exposing far more soul than previous efforts. "Love Your Way" and its acoustic arrangement showcases the vocals quite well without venturing into a singer/songwriter idea, veering into a rock-blues blueprint. What is most surprising is the consistency of the record, especially the adorable "Sunsets," which could be Powderfinger's equivalent to the Verve's Lucky Man. The pop-rock quotient is abundant throughout, particularly during the Tom Petty-esque toe-tapper "Don't Panic." Perhaps the only run-of-the-mill performance is the mid-tempo, guitar crunchy "Roll Right by You." And even then it's able to surpass the high bar they've created thus far. "How Far Have We Really Come?" might be mistaken for Chris Robinson's solo album -- a reflective and swaying Southern rock effort. By the time "A Song Called Everything" appears, the album should have given you more than a sense of Southern satisfaction. An outstanding piece of work!

Product Details

Release Date: 09/02/2003
Label: Universal Import
UPC: 0602498087657
catalogNumber: 980876
Rank: 223679

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Powderfinger   Primary Artist
Nick DiDia   Tambourine
Shauna Jenson   Background Vocals
Maggie McKinney   Background Vocals
Tony Reyes   Guitar,Keyboards,Background Vocals
Jon Coghill   Percussion,Drums
Bernard Fanning   Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar,Vocals
Ian Haug   Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar,Background Vocals
Darren Middleton   Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar,Keyboards,Vocals,Background Vocals
John Collins   Bass,Bass Guitar
Lachlan Doley   Piano,Hammond Organ

Technical Credits

Nick DiDia   Producer,Engineer,Contributor
Powderfinger   Composer
Tony Reyes   Producer
Anton Hagop   Engineer
Steven Gorrow   Artwork,Direction

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews