Wack Album [LP]

Wack Album [LP]

by The Lonely Island

Vinyl LP(Long Playing Record - Bonus DVD)

View All Available Formats & Editions

Item is available through our marketplace sellers.


Wack Album [LP]

While their first two albums of self-styled "fake rap" split the difference between rap album and comedy record, the Lonely Island's third outing, The Wack Album, finds the trio gearing up to really explore their own uncoolness with hilarious results. On the surface, it might seem like the group is simply sitting back and taking pot shots at rap culture, but the truth -- perfectly encapsulated by the back cover photo of the group standing in a pasture with a horse while wearing plaid dinner jackets -- is that the album is really an exploration of their own innate wackness. The Lonely Island don't try to come off as larger than life figures, but rather to showcase how sadly mundane they are compared to the club bangin' production that anchors their tracks. Instead of sipping Cristal and riding in style in the back of a Maybach, they're buying diapers and making down payments on reasonably priced, though not ideally located, grave plots in "Diaper Money." Instead of stirring up beef with others rappers, they use the track "The Compliments," which features a guest spot from a bewildered Too $hort, to let everyone know just how good they are at making skinny margaritas and helping out in the kitchen. Most impressive about The Wack Album is that the Lonely Island manage to get their jokes across without feeling like they're making fun of rap which, given how much material they'd have by making fun of themselves, would really be a last resort. [The Wack Album was also released on vinyl.]

Product Details

Release Date: 07/09/2013
Label: Republic
UPC: 0602537437320
catalogNumber: 001869101
Rank: 56001


Disc 1

  1. Dramatic Intro
  2. Go Kindergarten
  3. Hugs
  4. Diaper Money
  5. YOLO
  6. Spell It Out
  7. Semicolon
  8. Where Brooklyn At? (Interlude)
  9. You've Got the Look
  10. I'm a Hustler (Song?)
  11. Spring Break Anthem

Disc 2

  1. I Run NY
  2. I Don't Give a Honk
  3. 3-Way (The Golden Rule)
  4. Meet the Crew
  5. I F****d My Aunt
  6. We Are a Crowd
  7. The Compliments
  8. We Need Love
  9. Perfect Saturday

Album Credits

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews