Wake Forest Series of Irish Poetry Volume One

Wake Forest Series of Irish Poetry Volume One


$16.57 $17.95 Save 8% Current price is $16.57, Original price is $17.95. You Save 8%.

Temporarily Out of Stock Online

Eligible for FREE SHIPPING


Wake Forest Series of Irish Poetry Volume One by Wake Forest University Press

The Wake Forest Series of Irish Poetry, Volume I is a representative anthology meant to introduce to a broader audience a number of Irish poets, some young, some in their prime, who have not appeared widely before in North America. From the burgeoning economic realities of the “Celtic Tiger” to the burden of religious and political realignment, from urban scenes to historical landscapes, these poets sensitively record the effects of writing in a society that has shifted dramatically in the last decades; however, they do not write solely from historical or social contexts, but also out of psychological compulsions or in a mythic mode. Whatever their subject, they write with an awareness of the formal traditions and tensions of Irish poetry. Featuring poetry by Harry Clifton, Dennis O’Driscoll, David Wheatley, Sinéad Morrissey, and Caitríona O’Reilly; Edited and with an introduction by Jefferson Holdridge.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781930630208
Publisher: Wake Forest University Press
Publication date: 07/28/2005
Series: Wake Forest Series of Irish Poetry Ser.
Pages: 231
Product dimensions: 5.50(w) x 9.06(h) x 0.65(d)

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews