Walk with Me

Walk with Me

by Jamelia



Hopes were high for Jamelia's third album, Walk with Me, released in September 2006 almost three years after her previous album, Thank You, but the expected sales didn't really materialize, Walk with Me peaking at number 20 and spending just five weeks on the chart. Thank You had needed two bites of the cherry, appearing to fail miserably upon release, spending just two weeks in the chart and peaking at number 65 but enjoying a new lease on life throughout 2004 thanks to four Top Ten singles "Superstar," "Thank You," "See It in a Boy's Eyes," and "DJ." Walk with Me also included two further Top Ten hits, the opening track, "Something About You" and "Beware of the Dog," which sampled Depeche Mode's "Personal Jesus," turning the track into more of a rock song than an R&B one, which didn't really suit Jamelia's voice. The next single, "No More," did more than sample the Stranglers' "Golden Brown" and played it as was on the original all the way through the song: it was a strange choice of sample, as it was so dominant that one found oneself listening to the background rather than the song and singing along to "Golden Brown." "Do Me Right" was a collaboration with Afrika Bambaataa but one would think it was influenced by Talvin Singh rather than a hip-hop pioneer as it sounded very eastern. "Window Shopping" also featured a sample but that was a particularly silly one of Molly Sugden as Mrs. Slocombe from the TV sitcom Are You Being Served, injecting the catch-phrase "Are you free." The album lost its way a little in the middle as "La La Love," "Go," and "Get Up, Get Out" are rather insipid, chugging mid-tempo ballads, and then it's back to R&B-soul on "Got It so Good." The album closed with "Hustle," a Latin-grooved dance track that did exactly what you would expect, and a good way to end an album, leaving the audience wanting more.

Product Details

Release Date: 10/31/2006
Label: Emi Import
UPC: 0094637355220
catalogNumber: 373552

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Jamelia   Primary Artist
Afrika Bambaataa   Vocals
John Giblin   Bass
Kick Horns   Brass
Tim Pierce   Guitar
Sean Hurley   Bass
Joe Belmaati   Guitar,Keyboards
Martin Slattery   Piano,Keyboards
Henrik Jonback   Guitar
Jimmy Hogarth   Guitar,Percussion
Blair Sinta   Drums
Hannah Robinson   Background Vocals
Mich Hedin Hansen   Percussion
Matt Prime   Keyboards,Background Vocals
Ian Thomas   Drums

Technical Credits

Depeche Mode   Composer
Afrika Bambaataa   Composer
Pete Davis   Programming
Kick Horns   Brass Arrangment
Bill Malina   Engineer
Soulshock   Arranger,Composer,Producer,Instrumentation
Joe Belmaati   Composer,Programming,Engineer
Stuart Crichton   Composer,Producer,Engineer
Peter Biker   Composer
Fraser T. Smith   Composer,Producer
Karen Ann Poole   Composer
Nina Woodford   Composer,Vocal Producer
Jamelia   Composer
Cutfather & Joe   Producer
Jimmy Hogarth   Programming,Producer
Matt Prime   Composer,Programming,Producer,Brass Arrangment
Pontus Winnberg   Instrumentation

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews