Walking Through Fire: A Life of Nawal el Saadawi / Edition 2

Walking Through Fire: A Life of Nawal el Saadawi / Edition 2

Pub. Date:
Zed Books

Paperback - Rent for

Select a Purchase Option (Second Edition)
  • purchase options
    $18.11 $24.95 Save 27% Current price is $18.11, Original price is $24.95. You Save 27%.
  • purchase options


Walking Through Fire: A Life of Nawal el Saadawi / Edition 2

In A Daughter of Isis, Nawal El Saadawi painted a beautifully textured portrait of the childhood that moulded her into a novelist and fearless campaigner for freedom and the rights of women. Walking Through Fire takes up the story of her extraordinary life.

Famous for her novels, short stories and writings on women, Saadawi is known as the first Arab woman to have written about sex and its relation to economics and politics. Imprisoned under Sadat for her opinions, she has continued to fight against all forms of discrimination based on class, gender, nationality, race or religion. 

This autobiography shows the passion for justice that has shaped her life and her writing. We read about her as a rural doctor, trying to help a young girl escape from a terrible fate imposed on her by a brutal male tyranny. We follow her attempts to set up women's organizations and to publish magazines later banned by the authorities or endangered by fundamentalist threats. We travel with her into exile after the publication of her name on a death list. We witness her first marriage to a freedom fighter hounded into drug addiction by a system that has no mercy. We share her struggle against her 'false self' and a second husband who offers her financial security and comfort -- provided she stops writing. We live the beautiful moments of her third marriage with a man released after fourteen years of imprisonment and hard labour - their love, companionship and shared struggle. 

Nawal El Saadawi has carved a place for herself in the universal struggle against oppression. 'Words should not seek to please, to hide the wounds in our bodies, or the shameful moments in our lives', she says. 'They may hurt, give us pain, but they can also provoke us to question what we have accepted for thousands of years.'

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781848132290
Publisher: Zed Books
Publication date: 04/15/2009
Edition description: Second Edition
Pages: 304
Product dimensions: 5.10(w) x 7.70(h) x 0.70(d)

Table of Contents

Foreword by Rebecca Walker
1. The Threat
2. Spreading My Wings
3. The Village Doctor
4. The Tripartite Invasion
5. What is Suppressed Always Comes Back
6. Love and Despair
7. My Mother has no Place in Paradise
8. Moments that Belong Nowhere
9. The Death Threat
10. Beyond Consciousness
11. The Photograph
12. The Scalpel and the Law
13. The Defeat
14. Searching for Love
15. An Aborted Revolution
16. The Dream of Flying

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews