Wardens of Eternity

Wardens of Eternity

by Courtney Allison Moulton

Hardcover

$18.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, January 29

Overview

Magic and magical creatures. Immortal gods and goddesses. History and mythology. Strap in for this action-packed YA novel that that takes place over the days leading up to World War II, when Ziva must rely on her wit and magic to outmaneuver Nazis and ancient Egyptian gods to prevent global destruction.

Ziva has one memory of her parents, made the day they abandoned her on the streets of New York City when she was three years old. They left her with only a memory and a promise that she had a great and terrible destiny.

Fifteen years later, Ziva discovers that destiny includes powers that she doesn’t understand and can barely control. Her magic attracts vicious, otherworldly monsters, and eventually compatriots to help her fight them. Sayer and Nasira know the secrets Ziva doesn’t; that Ziva is descended from Egyptian royalty and in possession of ancient magic passed down from the time of the gods. They promise to teach Ziva to control her magic and to give her the family she’s always yearned for.

But trouble is brewing in the world around them; darkness is descending on Hitler’s Germany, threatening World War II. As the last heir of a revered Egyptian queen, Ziva is the only one with the power to prevent another costly global conflict. As Ziva navigates her newfound abilities and makes a connection with Anubis and other Egyptian gods, the Nazis are hunting for the ultimate weapon, and Ziva has caught their interest.

Wardens of Eternity

  • Is written by Courtney Moulton, author of the acclaimed Angelfire series
  • Is an action-packed page-turner that blends history, mythology, and magic
  • Is a clean teen historical fantasy; perfect for fans of Rick Riordan and Kiersten White

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780310767183
Publisher: Blink
Publication date: 01/21/2020
Pages: 368
Sales rank: 509,549
Product dimensions: 5.50(w) x 8.40(h) x 1.40(d)
Age Range: 13 - 18 Years

About the Author

Courtney Moulton was born in Texas and grew up in Michigan, where she spent a lifetime studying ancient civilizations and writing about magic and monsters. Her debut novel Angelfire was published when she was just 24 years old.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Wardens of Eternity 3.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 2 reviews.
MusicInPrint 5 days ago
Egypt, Mythology, gods, WWII. Love the cover art very impressive. This story was fast passed and held my interest for the most part. Characters were flat and their emotions were kind of all over the place. Ending hinted at this being the start of a series. "A copy of this book was provided by Blink via Netgalley with no requirements for a review. Comments here are my honest opinion."
Tessa_Pulyer 5 days ago
Wardens of Eternity is a fun, action-packed story that takes the reader on an international journey of magic and mayhem. Favorite character: Ziva Mereniset I debated this choice for a while because she is a very complex character but ultimately decided that she is indeed my favorite in this story. She goes from being a poor orphan girl with no idea about who and where she came from to being someone willing to fight to protect the identity that she discovers throughout the novel. She is open to questionable decisions as well as decisions based on emotional reactions to events going on around her, but that makes her more dynamic and genuine. What I Liked The story started out reminding me of some of my favorite series: Percy Jackson, Shadowhunters, and even Harry Potter. I am always on the lookout for new and unique tales, but I also enjoy the expectations that go along with what I already know and love. Wardens of Eternity does have some of those anticipated elements, but it also has many unexpected ones as the story unfolds. It took me from a place of contentment to gradually show me a new story that is unique in many ways. I loved the Egyptian mythology aspect of the novel. It is a nice departure from Greek and Roman mythology, to which I often am attracted. Wardens of Eternity does a great job breathing life into the gods and other mythological creatures of legend. Set, Anubis and others become just as complex and relatable as their human counterparts without losing their omnipotence. The setting is historical and international, which reminded me of another favorite – Indiana Jones. Set in a time of Nazi dominance, this added another dimension to the novel by providing another enemy- a human enemy outside the scope of mythology. The setting also adds to the fun by delivering little nuances such as travel by airship and being scandalous by having women who dressed in pants. I also loved the ending, even after reading it more than once. I can’t say much for fear of giving away spoilers, but it is shocking while at the same time being relatable and, in my opinion, takes the book to the next level in terms of my review and rating. What I Wish My only wish is that the story had a slower build. The quickness is jarring and makes suspending disbelief temporarily tricky. This quickness did not detract from my enjoyment of the novel, ultimately, but I can’t help but wonder how much different the story would have been if I had been given time to learn about Ziva’s powers as she learned about them. To Read or Not to Read If you enjoy YA Fantasy, this book is a must-read, especially if you enjoy any of the other stories I referred to throughout my review. I was provided with an advanced copy of the book through NetGalley and the publisher in exchange for an honest review.