We Got a Love

We Got a Love

by Shit RobotShit Robot


$9.25 $9.99 Save 7% Current price is $9.25, Original price is $9.99. You Save 7%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Shit Robot's Marcus Lambkin proved on the project's first album, 2010's From the Cradle to the Rave, that he was well-versed in a myriad of electronic music styles from four-on-the-floor techno to funky house to electro-pop to synth pop. With the help of some of his DFA friends, he made a really promising, really fun album. The follow-up, 2014's We Got a Love, cashes in on that promise as it utilizes some old DFA connections, looks a bit farther afield for collaborations, and digs into a few more styles with equally impressive skill. The debut was perfectly good, but this time Lambkin's songs are a little catchier, the synths a little poppier, and the sound is more focused. His DFA pals acquit themselves well, with Nancy Whang lending her always lovely vocals to the dance-punky "Do That Dance," the Rapture's Luke Jenner going full Sylvester to great effect on the percolating disco heater "Feels Real," and LCD drummer Pat Mahoney's Museum of Love adding some nice dreaminess to the cotton-soft "Dingbat." Elsewhere, vocalist Holly Backler channels Ce Ce Peniston on the wonderfully retro hip-house charmer "Feels Like," and the suddenly ubiquitous Reggie Watts adds some oddball treated vocals to "The Secret" and plays it straight on the title track, an infectious house jammer that sounds great with his falsetto vocals soaring high above the beat. The real get, though, is legendary Chicago house artist Lidell Townsell, whose "Get wit U" and "Nu Nu" singles are genre classics. He gives the pulsing "Do It (Right)" some old-school cred and Lambkin responds with a track that nearly equals Townsell's own work. Add a couple of techno-y Moroder-esque instruments to the mix and the result is another excellent album from Lambkin and his unfortunately named band. His impressive mastery of sounds is now matched by the quality of the songs, and overall one would be hard-pressed to find a better, more satisfying electronic dance music album in 2014, or anytime.

Product Details

Release Date: 03/18/2014
Label: Dfa Records
UPC: 0829732239621
catalogNumber: 2396
Rank: 150581

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Shit Robot   Primary Artist
Lidell Townsell   Vocals
Leo Pearson   Percussion,Drums
Reggie Watts   Vocals
Luke Jenner   Vocals
Nancy Whang   Vocals
James Murphy   Piano,Keyboards,CS-80
Alex Frankel   Help
Andrew Raposo   Bass
Morgan Wiley   Percussion,Piano,Keyboards
Sokhna Heathyre Mabin   Background Vocals
Jaiko Suzuki   Background Vocals
Viva Ruiz   Background Vocals
Richard Egan   Guitar,Keyboards
Nick Millheiser   Bass
Magnificent Ladies of the Crystal Ark   Background Vocals

Technical Credits

Lidell Townsell   Composer
Phil Mossman   Additional Production
Leo Pearson   Composer,Producer
Reggie Watts   Composer
Luke Jenner   Composer
Nancy Whang   Composer
James Murphy   Composer
Eric Broucek   Whistle
Matt Thornley   Additional Production
Marcus Lambkin   Composer,Producer
Pat Mahoney   Composer,Producer
Holly Backler   Composer
Dennis McNany   Composer,Producer
Michael Vadino   Graphic Design

Customer Reviews