Weave a Circle Round

Weave a Circle Round

by Kari Maaren

Paperback

$14.39 $15.99 Save 10% Current price is $14.39, Original price is $15.99. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Thursday, September 27?   Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Shipping at checkout.
    Same Day shipping in Manhattan. 
    See Details

Overview

Weave a Circle Round by Kari Maaren

Discover your inner child once again in Weave a Circle Round, a debut fantasy adventure for fans of Madeleine L'Engle, Diana Wynne Jones, and E. L. Konigsburg. Now nominated as a finalist for the Andre Norton Award for Outstanding Young Adult Novel!

When the unexpected moves in next door, anything can happen in Weave a Circle Round, Kari Maaren's debut in this YA-friendly fantasy adventure.

Freddy doesn’t want people to think she’s weird. Her family makes that difficult, though: her deaf stepbrother Roland’s a major geek, and her genius little sister Mel’s training to be the next Sherlock Holmes. All Freddy wants is to survive high school.

Then two extremely odd neighbors move in next door.

Cuerva Lachance and Josiah definitely aren't normal. Neither is their house, which defies the laws of physics. Neither is Freddy’s situation, when she suddenly finds herself stuck thousands of years in the past with her very, very weird neighbors. And that’s only the beginning.

“I adored this brilliant book from start to finish. It left me reeling with delight and I can't wait for the rest of the world to get as lost in its pages as I was.” —Charles de Lint

“I'd have loved this book when I was twelve, and I love it now.” —Nebula, Hugo, and World Fantasy-Award winning author Jo Walton

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780765386281
Publisher: Tom Doherty Associates
Publication date: 11/28/2017
Pages: 368
Sales rank: 312,540
Product dimensions: 5.50(w) x 8.20(h) x 1.10(d)

About the Author

KARI MAAREN is a Toronto-area writer, award-winning musician and cartoonist, and academic. She created the webcomics West of Bathurst and It Never Rains, and is also known as a musician for her popular song "Beowulf Pulled Off My Arm." Weave a Circle Round is her first novel.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Weave a Circle Round 3.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 3 reviews.
Caroles_Random_Life More than 1 year ago
I didn't like this book at all. I thought about abandoning the book pretty early on and those thoughts seemed to pop up over and over with increased frequency. I don't know why I just didn't give up on this book and move on to something that I would enjoy more but for some reason, I kept pushing myself to keep listening for just a little bit more. I do think that this is a book that some reader will really enjoy but it wasn't the book for me and I should have stopped as soon as I started considering it. I found this book to be rather confusing at times. As I was trying to get into the book, I often found myself having to back up the audio to listen to sections again in an attempt to make sense of the story. Things happen that really make little to no sense and the story shifts time and place without a lot of explanation. There were times that multiple versions of the same character were in a scene which just added to the confusion. I had a hard time following the storyline at times. I didn't feel a connection to any of the characters. Freddy, Mel, and Roland were the most likable characters in the book but I never really felt any kind of connection to them. Mel and Roland play large roles in parts of the book but are absent in a large portion of the story. Josiah and Cuerva Lachance were incredibly strange. Cuerva Lachance may win the prize for the strangest character that I have read in all of her various forms. Josiah was hard to trust and it always seemed that he was hiding important things from Freddy. Freddy was the main character of the story and while we spend a lot of time in her head I still didn't feel like I truly understood her at the close of the book. I did enjoy the narration. This was the first time that I have listened to Eileen Stevens and I thought she did a good job with the book. Honestly, her narration is probably the reason that I continued to listen to the book even when I realized it wasn't going to work for me. She did an excellent job with all of the character voices and her voice was very pleasant to listen to. I would not hesitate to listen to her narration again in the future. I will not be recommending this book to others. There were parts of the book that I did like a lot more than others. I thought that the opening scene was well done and I generally liked all of the scenes with Freddy, Mel, and Roland a lot more than the parts of the book where the characters were twisting around in time. I do think that other readers may have a very different reaction to this book and may really enjoy it. I would say to give it a try if you think the concept sounds like something you would enjoy. I received a review copy of this audiobook from Blackstone Audio, Inc. via Audiobook Jukebox.
ForTheArtOfIt More than 1 year ago
I received an eARC copy of this book from the publisher. Here is my honest review. I super enjoyed this book! I loved the cover and then was pleasantly surprised to find that it has time travel, which is about the only type of science fiction I truly enjoy. The opening hooked me right away and I loved seeing how Freddy's chance encounter with a stranger who gave her a key turned out. All the characters in the book are quirky which was a lot of fun - unrealistic maybe, but still fun. What was interesting is that none of the characters have strong friendships but that didn't take away from the story. It was just unique for a middle-grade book - maybe young adult* actually as Freddy is a teenager - I thought. *It didn't have any typical YA tropes, which is why I thought it was middle-grade. (This makes me love it even more!) The one thing that really bugged me about this book was Freddy's parents. I can't really believe that the parents are so disconnected that they don't make an appearance until the absolute very end. And by appearance I mean interaction with their children. That was unbelievable and maybe it was necessary for the plot but I would kindly disagree. This is a time travel book and the way Maaren chooses to explore it was pretty refreshing - I don't recall an explanation at all as to how the time travel actually worked. And there were a lot of different times and places that were visited, with varying amounts of development of the time period and characters. Some gave you a good sense of that time and others were a brief glimpse. It was different but for me, it worked. I didn't have to worry about figuring out the science behind everything I could just take it at face value and move on. Finally, I really enjoyed Maaren's writing style: it was rich and descriptive and full of great vocabulary. I hope she writes more books!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I want to meet Cuerva Lachance and just talk crazy for a while. I love the language in this story!