Welcome Home: Historic Romance of the Celtic Legends

Welcome Home: Historic Romance of the Celtic Legends

by Martina Boone
3.5 4

Paperback

$14.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Get it by Friday, June 22 ,  Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Delivery during checkout.

Overview

Welcome Home: Historic Romance of the Celtic Legends by Martina Boone

From the outlaw hero Rob Roy MacGregor to the tragedy of Bonnie Prince Charlie's last Jacobite Rising, the courage of Flora MacDonald, and the swashbuckling story of Morty Óg O'Sullivan, WELCOME HOME is a tapestry of the great rivalries between the Highland clans and the conflicts between England and the Celtic nations. Along the way, there are little known incidents that bring the personalities of Henry VIII, Bloody Mary, Mary Queen of Scots, Elizabeth I, and other historical figures roaring to the page, together with legends, music, and recipes that will immerse readers in the romance of Scotland, Ireland, and Cornwall.

Read it through from cover to cover or jump around via the table of contents. WELCOME HOME will make you reexamine the facts you thought you knew and the characters in your favorite historical novels.

Perfect for readers who love Martina Boone's Celtic Legends Collection, Nora Roberts' romances from Scotland and Ireland, Diana Gabaldon's OUTLANDER series, Susannah Kearsley's modern gothic novels with a touch of history, or medieval or regency historical romances featuring men in kilts

PRAISE FOR LAKE OF DESTINY

"I loved this!!! It reminds me of a Nora Roberts series, The Gallaghers of Ardmore . . . but a Scottish version with men in kilts!" - Two Chicks on Books

"Outlander-Lite Meets Gilmore Girls in Scotland. This is a story that sucked me in from the start and didn't let go until I'd laughed, shed a few tears and worked up an appetite. Fast. Fun. Romantic. Read it!" -Jenuine Cupcakes

"Endearing and alluring! Modern day mixed with history, truth, folklore, and just the right touch of the blarney! - Thoughts on Your Words

"So much charm it's magical!" - BookGeek

PRAISE FOR COMPULSION

"Skillfully blends rich magic and folklore with adventure, sweeping romance, and hidden treasure . . . Impressive." - Publisher's Weekly

"Eight Beaufort is so swoon-worthy that it's ridiculous. Move over Four, Eight is here to stay!" - RT Book Reviews, RT Editors Best Books of 2014

"Darkly romantic and steeped in Southern Gothic charm, you'll be compelled to get lost in the Heirs of Watson Island series." - #1 New York Times bestselling author Jennifer L. Armentrout

"The perfect Southern family saga: charming and steamy on the surface, with cold-blooded secrets buried down deep. - Kendare Blake, NYT bestselling author

"Haunting, atmospheric, and absorbing." - Claudia Gray, New York Times bestselling author

"Beautifully written, with vivid characters, a generations-old feud, and romance that leaps off the page. Not to be missed." - Megan Shepherd, NYT bestselling author

MARTINA BOONE'S CELTIC LEGENDS COLLECTION

The novels of the Celtic Legends collection are heartwarming and uplifting stand-alone contemporary love stories set in Scotland, Cornwall, Ireland, and Wales with a bit of history, legend, and magic woven through them. They can be read in any order, although side characters from previous books are sometimes mentioned.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781946773180
Publisher: Mayfair Publishing
Publication date: 03/26/2018
Pages: 350
Sales rank: 685,337
Product dimensions: 5.25(w) x 8.00(h) x 0.78(d)

About the Author

Martina Boone is the founder and principal blogger at Adventures in YA Publishing, a Writer’s Digest 101 Best Websites for Writers pick. She writes and edits web-based and business material, and lives in Virginia with her husband, two children, and Auggie, a therapy dog, who is convinced it is his job to make the world a better place. Visit her at MartinaBoone.com, Facebook, or Twitter.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Welcome Home: Historic Romance of the Celtic Legends 3.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 4 reviews.
Anonymous 4 months ago
I hoped for a story, but got a historical discussion that was intended to support the sale of the author's novels. It is a Sales brochure .
HeyerF4n 5 months ago
Religion, Power, Corruption. This is a companion book to the Celtic Legends Collection by Ms Boone, all of which feature a bit of history and legend. This book gives some more detail of the conflicts between the English Crown and Scotland and Ireland. Whilst it is described as a book that you can ‘jump around’ via the table of contents I think it works best reading the chapters in order as they are, more or less, chronological. So many wars have been fought throughout the world over religion, or in order to gain (and retain) power; and the history of Britain is no exception. Power leads to corruption and it is the common people, without rights or wealth who suffer. I found this book rather depressing as there was so much of man’s inhumanity to man within it’s covers with little light relief. I like to escape from the world’s troubles into literature but this book reminds you that in the present in which we live, we don’t seem to learn from history and man’s basic nature never seems to change. I voluntarily read and reviewed an advanced copy of this book. All thoughts and opinions are my own.
thicks 6 months ago
First off I love how the author begins the book with information on folklore and wars fought and the struggles of people from the past. It's a great lead in to the story. And while I am not a big fan of historical reads I did enjoy the lesson. Lesson, that's what the entire book is about. Throughout history those small tidbits are lost and only found by those interested enough to care or those who want accuracy in their novels. This are great stories and the author makes it easy for you to jump around if you do not want to read each story. Each chapter has historical recounts with additional little known facts and stories about the leaders known and not so known. Very little is left out since she includes historic Ireland and Scotland with the Celtic heroes, outlaws, royalty, clans all of it along with songs and recipes from the past make this an excellent addition to your library.
Anonymous 6 months ago
Loved how easy and entertaining this was to read! I'm a fan of Ms. Boone's Celtic Legends books plus Outlander and a lot of books set in Scotland and Ireland, so it's great to get a sense of the big picture. What's even better is that this doesn't feel too "big". With the focus on Rob Roy and the heroes and schemers behind-the-scenes, it feels like a really great story or a personal chat i'm getting to have with the author. Absolutely wonderful!