Well After Awhile

Well After Awhile

by Shinyribs


Item is available through our marketplace sellers.


Well After Awhile

Kevin "Shinyribs" Russell made his name in the roots rock and Americana scene as the lead singer, main songwriter, and accomplished multi-instrumentalist in the Gourds, one of Austin's most popular and unpredictable bands. Their albums range from bluegrass to hardcore honky tonk, with side trips to the swamps of Louisiana and the acid-drenched highlands of psychedelia. The ever-prolific Russell started performing as Shinyribs in 2006, in an attempt to showcase the tunes he was writing that didn't fit into the Gourds' format, as unlikely as that may sound. On his solo debut, he's backed by some of Austin's best musical mavericks, and turns in another unclassifiable romp full of his enigmatic word play and powerful, countrified vocal style. Folk-rock with a taste of R&B informs "Who Built the Moon," a slow-grooving tune with a poetic lyric that imagines the origins of the moon. "Poor People's Store" has a jug band feel with acoustic guitar, shoe box percussion, standup bass, and a ragtime beat. Shinyribs sings about all the nifty deals you can pick up on the cheap, including socks with flames, some pills for yer pain, and a fish that sings "Take Me to the River." "Country Cool" is an old-fashioned honky tonk tune that salutes the joys of organic farming and drinking beer with a solid backbeat, wailing harmonica, and icy pedal steel. The apocalyptic "(If You Need The) 442" is a rocker has a hint of early Motown with a crackling electric guitar and rollicking barrelhouse piano. "Morning's Night" is a funky Southern rocker with more than a hint of progressive psychedelia in its wide-open sound. An extended outro features huge clanging guitars soaring from speaker to speaker to produce a lonesome, desolate aura. Shinyribs closes the set with a soulful, bare-bones cover of Sam Cooke's "Change Is Gonna Come," with just Shinyribs on ukulele and vocals that show off the high range of his expressive tenor.

Product Details

Release Date: 06/15/2010
Label: Nine Mile Records
UPC: 0845121021073
catalogNumber: 210

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Shinyribs   Primary Artist,Musician
Michael Fracasso   Musician
Ray Wylie Hubbard   Musician
Bukka Allen   Musician
David Boyle   Musician
George Reiff   Musician
Brad Rice   Musician
Rick Richards   Musician
Mark Rubin   Musician
Keith Langford   Musician
Stephen Belans   Musician
Winfield Cheek   Musician
"Scrappy" Joe Newcomb   Musician
Eleanor Whitmore   Musician
John Leon   Musician
Phoebe Hunt   Musician
Sally Allen   Musician

Technical Credits

Sam Cooke   Composer
George Reiff   Producer,Engineer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews