We'll Fly Away

We'll Fly Away

by Bryan Bliss

Hardcover

$16.19 $17.99 Save 10% Current price is $16.19, Original price is $17.99. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, July 24

Overview

National Book Award Longlist Title * Booklist Editors’ Choice * CYBILS Young Adult Fiction Finalist * Nerdy Book Club Award for Best Young Adult Fiction * Paste Magazine Best Book *YALSA Best Fiction for Young Adults

“A compelling and raw story.”Publishers Weekly (starred review)

“[Bliss dares] his readers not only to see the depths of human complexity, but to care.”—Booklist (starred review)

Luke and Toby have always had each other’s backs. But then one choice—or maybe it is a series of choices—sets them down an irrevocable path. We’ll Fly Away weaves together Luke and Toby’s senior year of high school with letters Luke writes to Toby later—from death row.

Best friends since childhood, Luke and Toby have dreamed of one thing: getting out of their dead-end town. Soon they finally will, riding the tails of Luke’s wrestling scholarship, never looking back. If they don’t drift apart first. If Toby’s abusive dad, or Luke’s unreliable mom, or anything else their complicated lives throw at them doesn’t get in the way.

Tense and emotional, this hard-hitting novel explores family abuse, sex, love, and friendship, and how far people will go to protect those they love. For fans of Jason Reynolds, Marieke Nijkamp, and NPR’s Serial podcast.

Praise for We’ll Fly Away:

"Bryan Bliss has written an empathetic and stirring novel about what it means to fight for the outcasts, the forgotten, and even the hated, reminding us that we all have worth. That we are all valuable."—Sister Helen Prejean, author of Dead Man Walking

“A poignant story of loyalty, abuse, and poverty. . . . This compassionate and beautifully rendered novel packs an emotional punch.”—Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

A smart, rugged, all-too-true story of friendship under fire. Believable characters and page-turning tension.”—Chris Crutcher, author of Staying Fat for Sarah Byrnes

“This fast-paced read will have teens tearing through chapters to find out why Luke is in jail. . . . The conclusion will leave them devastated. This is [a] touching book about male friendship for fans of Jason Reynolds.”—School Library Journal

“The unshakable and unconditional bond between the young men is tested and proves true, a ray of light in the darkness of their stories.”—VOYA

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780062494276
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date: 05/08/2018
Pages: 416
Sales rank: 130,202
Product dimensions: 5.60(w) x 8.30(h) x 1.50(d)
Age Range: 14 - 17 Years

About the Author

Bryan Bliss is the author of We’ll Fly Away, Meet Me Here, and No Parking at the End Times. He holds master’s degrees in theology and fiction and works as a curriculum designer and developer. His nonfiction has been published in Image Journal, along with various other newspapers, magazines, and blogs. He lives in St. Paul, Minnesota, with his wife and two children.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

We'll Fly Away 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
ahyperboliclife More than 1 year ago
“We are not living in a world that stands still.” I have feelings after reading this books. Not bad feelings or even good ones, just a lot of feelings. This book definitely pulls at your heart and leaves an impact. It’s so much a character study of friendship and the messiness of life. It’s almost overwhelming, but in a good way. We’ll Fly Away follows best friends Luke and Toby living in their small North Carolina town. We see their friendship, their fights, and what happens when it all goes horribly wrong. Things I Liked The story really is just a snapshot of a life. It’s earnest, honest, and exposed. I love stories about friendship and We’ll Fly Away delivered in showcasing the dependency, flights, and love between these two in a heartfelt and painful way. I LOVED the letters that Luke wrote to Toby. It not only added a cool timeline element to the story, but I enjoyed getting to know him more and really get into his mindset. Things I Didn’t Like I wasn’t the biggest fan of the romances in the story, and they unfortunately got more prevalent as the story progressed. I honestly thought they were not needed at all. I feel like We’ll Fly Away is almost painful to read. I don’t know if it’s something you can really enjoy, so much as just the story that’s being told and the lives these characters have lived. The story feels personal, so it was really easy to complete invest yourself. If you’re looking for a reading experience that will leave you thinking and feeling something, look no further than We’ll Fly Away. I received a copy of the book from Harper Collins via Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review.