We're in Trouble

We're in Trouble

by Christopher Coake
4.0 2

Paperback(First Edition)

$13.91 $18.95 Save 27% Current price is $13.91, Original price is $18.95. You Save 27%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Get it by Thursday, August 24 , Order now and choose Expedited Delivery during checkout.


We're in Trouble by Christopher Coake

This book begins with "We're in Trouble," a suite of three stories that introduces its common theme: love darkening and persevering as it is tried by the cold fact of death. And in the vivid stories that follow, as Coake's unforgettable characters experience love staring at the face of death, it elicits either the best or the worst in them. From a wife waiting for news of her husband's latest death-defying climb to a sheriff thrown into turmoil after his close friend enacts a horrifying murder-suicide, Coake makes us feel the truth of his imperiled characters' lives and transforms it into cathartic art.

With the complexity, depth, and narrative drive of a novel, this extraordinary debut collection is at once suspenseful, empathic, and almost unbearably moving.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780156032773
Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Publication date: 04/03/2006
Edition description: First Edition
Pages: 322
Product dimensions: 5.31(w) x 8.00(h) x (d)

About the Author

CHRISTOPHER COAKE lives in Reno, where he teaches creative writing at the University of Nevada.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

We're in Trouble 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 2 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
SavageBS More than 1 year ago
Christopher Coake's debut collection is nothing less than exceptional! "We're in Trouble" is easily one of the top three best books of short stories I have ever read. The book has seven magnificent stories, all covering different subjects and each one leaves an impression. This book will literally grab you from the start, with the first story "We're in Trouble - A Suite", which has three parts to it, with each story being different and not related to the others. Part I - (Back Down to Earth) is a moving, heart breaking story about a boy and his dog Part II - (All Babies Come from Heaven) will take your breath away, a couple that wants to have a child is torn by tragedy Part III - (We've Come to This) is a the story about an old man who is terminally ill and is ready to say goodbye The rest of the collection - Cross Country - a superb tale about what a little boy thinks he saw and then the telling of what actually happened Solos - the story of a daring solo mountain climber whose family is always in peril, waiting for the next bit of information on his success / failure / death In the Event - a gripping story about a couple who aren't quite sure about their own relationship, their lives are changed forever when their best friends are killed and leave their son in their care A Single Awe - a woman who once wasn't sure her college boyfriend was the right man, ends up marrying him after he becomes a hero and looks back at her choices Abandon - two young lovers want to get away and retreat to a secluded cabin right before a brutal surprise snow storm blows in and leaves them trapped All Through the House - a story about a sheriff who tells the story of his best friend who commits a horrific murder suicide on his family and how, why & what led up to that point This collection doesn't have alot of reviews, but it does have a perfect 5 star average rating. Reading the other reviews myself, it's very easy to see that I'm not alone in stating that this book blew me away and stayed with me several days after I finished it. If your planning on reading this book, don't let the fact that their is only one review posted for this book so far! Highly, highly recommended short stories! Enjoy~