What If It's Us

What If It's Us

by Becky Albertalli, Adam Silvera

Hardcover

$11.83 $18.99 Save 38% Current price is $11.83, Original price is $18.99. You Save 38%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Want it by Thursday, December 13 Order now and choose Expedited Shipping during checkout.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780062795250
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date: 10/09/2018
Pages: 448
Sales rank: 353
Product dimensions: 5.50(w) x 8.25(h) x 1.37(d)
Age Range: 14 - 17 Years

About the Author

Becky Albertalli is the author of the acclaimed novels Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda, The Upside of Unrequited, and Leah on the Offbeat. A former clinical psychologist who specialized in working with children and teens, Becky lives with her family in Atlanta. You can visit her online at www.beckyalbertalli.com.


Adam Silvera is the New York Times bestselling author of They Both Die at the EndHistory Is All You Left Me, and More Happy Than Not, for which he was named a Publishers Weekly Flying Start. Born and raised in the Bronx, Adam was a bookseller before shifting to children’s publishing. He has worked at a literary development company and a creative writing website for teens and as a book reviewer of children’s and young adult novels. He is tall for no reason and lives in New York City. Visit him online at www.adamsilvera.com.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

What If It's Us 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 15 reviews.
Anonymous 5 months ago
The sweetest YA novel, brimming with the perfect touches of humanity and real humanizing empathy. Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera's heart-wrenching, gut-tugging styles both shine through, generating a unique and heartwarming depiction that feels exactly like a young crush. Absolutely worth the wait, and perfect for any age.
JMatBookFreakRevelations 5 months ago
“What If It’s Us, is THE YA rom-com that every contemporary fan needs. It tells a unique and beautifully written story about two people who come from different walks of life only to find out that they have a lot more in common than they realize. It features the importance of believing in fate and destiny and that sometimes, the universe roots for you even if it doesn’t seem like it. It tells us that love is definitely the strongest force out there and what’s meant to be will always find a way. It’s a book whose characters will stay with you long after you turn the last page and it is no doubt one of my all-time favorite books EVER.”
m_baez 6 days ago
This book was amazing, just getting that out of the way first. When I first bought the book (signed copy, by the way,
ruthsic 10 days ago
This is a romance story about a meet-cute between two guys, in New York, and yes, it brings in all the cuteness and relatability of a first love. Told in alternating perspectives between Ben and Arthur, it is a sweet romance but also about how to navigate relationships and friendships in your teen years, as well as how there is no perfect formula for a happy couple, and you find your own way. All this is bound together in the humor and realism of being a young adult in this era. Ben and Arthur meet at a transitional time in both their lives – Ben is just getting over a recent break-up (he dumped his ex and was about to mail him his things) and Arthur is interning at his mom’s law firm for the summer. It is a little love at first sight, but more like ‘oh he’s cute I should give it a try’ kind of thing. The initial stages of their relationships are fraught with troubles like, for instance, finding each other, which Arthur does in his cute Arthur way, and then finding a happy medium between their two different ideas of hanging out and having fun. Their approach to love is also slightly different – where Arthur is all about the romanticized idea of love, Ben is a little cynical given his recent break-up. Then comes their individual insecurities – Arthur feels that Ben might not be over his ex, and Ben feels a little defensive about his socioeconomic status, as well as the fact that he is in summer school. Alongside this main storyline, is the changing relationships between their respective group of friends, and how they handle those things. The only drawback of this book I can say is that the voices don’t seem distinct enough. Ben and Arthur sound pretty much the same, even with their supposedly different personalities, and considering the fact that this book is co-written by two people, it was just disappointing that this happened. And while this is not necessarily a drawback, their respective friends are way TOO enthusiastic about getting them together, and you also have to pretty much buy into fate to make this all believable; still, considering this is a romance, it gets a pass. Overall, a cute romance story with a good cast of characters you’d love to cheer for.
Anonymous 20 days ago
Loved this story. It was funny and sweet and really made you root for the characters. Loved it.
Sara Gribbins 3 months ago
if anybody could answer me as to what the lexile score is that would be helpful
nezzzy_mon 3 months ago
I am a huge fan of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, so when I heard they were co-writing a book, I lost my mind - and rightfully so, because THIS BOOK IS SO GREAT! The pairing of Ben and Arthur might be one of my favorite pairings I have ever read. seriously. Since the story is told in both Ben and Arthur's point-of-view, I was really able to understand the boys' natural connection. The two points of view allowed the reader to really understand Ben and Arthur as a couple but also individually, as we learned more about their past relationships with friends and parents. I left the book LOVING both Arthur and Ben. The romance in the story is wonderful and adorable but the secondary characters are just as entertaining. Ethan, Jessie, and Samantha are all great and Dylan definitely stole the show a few times. I really loved reading how Ben and Arthur's relationship with their parents and friends evolved as they were moving forward with their own relationship. I flew through this book because I couldn't put it down. It was the PERFECT combination of Becky and Adam in this book. It was adorable, funny, heartbreaking, charming, a little bit saucy. This was a stunning team effort on both parts. It didn't feel like "these were Adam's chapters and these were Becky's chapters,' the whole story flowed perfectly together. I HIGHLY recommend this book to anyone who is a YA contemporary fan. it feels so amazing that wonderful books starring characters in the LGBT community and POC are getting more visibility. this is a sweet story about how a short Jewish boy from Georgia and a Puerto Rican boy from NYC had an instant connection in a post office one afternoon like the Universe was pushing them together. I will forever support Becky, Adam, and beautiful stories like this one.
CrazyCat_Alex 3 months ago
The story is told in multiple pov's and that makes it even more enjoyable. The characters are just amazing, written with so much care and detail, I loved everyone of them. A perfect story, not just for teens and the perfect Christmas gift.
KaileyReadsYA 4 months ago
Fantastic, funny, adorable, sweet, heartbreaking, lovely . . . I could keep listing adjectives but then we'd be here all night. Instead I'll just say this: contemporary readers you need this book in your life. Fans of Becky and Adam both you need this book in your life. Anyone who adores a good romcom or some deep and complex stories with heart, you need this book. Personally? I think everyone needs this book in their lives, but you'll have to read it to decide for yourself. So, my suggestion is get reading!
ck2875 4 months ago
I only ordered a physical copy of 'What If It's Us?' (I've been buying ebooks since 2007 and had also bought this book digitally) because of how much I love both of the authors' other books, and was excited to see B&N offering a signed edition. I know that Silvera & Albertalli probably signed a cubic ton of these for B&N and just wanted to churn through the stacks of books in front of them, but I was honestly so very disappointed that they only wrote their initials, "BA" and "AS". At least Becky put a heart around her initials, but I would have preferred she took that time to put a full signature.
hoping4nash 5 months ago
What If It's Us is a solid collaboration between two great, well-established authors. If you are looking for an enjoyable read (especially if you're looking for gay main characters), you have found the right book.
Matt-Light 5 months ago
I read this book back in its ARC form and I instantly fell in love with it. It is the perfect rom-com for any young adult genre lover. Arthur and Ben come from such different backgrounds and find love in each other and the ending leaves you feeling hopeful. Plus all the broadway references are AMAZING!!! With Albertalli's typically happier endings and Silvera's way of breaking your heart but making you want more, it leaves the mystery of how this will end. Please read, enjoy, and answer the question: "What If It's Us?"
Anonymous 5 months ago
Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera are my two favorite Contemporary YA authors. They've both individually written three amazing books I couldn't put down once I picked up. Then magically earlier this year I found out they were pairing up and writing a book together, WHAT IF IT'S US. Side note, I pre-ordered this book on audible like a week ago and got it today. I listened to it all day. When I got home from work, I had a package in the mail, a physical copy of this book. My first thought was who ordered this for me. Who else knows I've been dying to read this? Hmmm... Convinced I didn't actually buy it but also needing to prove it, I check my Amazon account. sure enough, I pre-ordered this way back in May. Go figure! First, I have to say the sheer amount of nerdiness found in these pages makes me incredibly happy. From Harry Potter to Hamilton and a half dozen other musical references in the middle, this girl was smiling with every metaphorical turn of the page. Arthur's love for Lin Manuel Miranda is one I can relate to on a personal level. What can I say without giving things away for this debut book? It's lovely from page one. The characters feel real. The way they address things, their emotions, the dialogue. It's one of the reasons Albertalli and Silvera are my favorite YA contemporary authors. It's a hard nut to get right and they are masterful every time. In the case of the narrators for the audiobook, they did an amazing job. It won't disappoint.
book_junkee 5 months ago
I was so insanely excited for this book. I had seen so many people raving about it and I loved the premise. Sadly I was so underwhelmed by it. I guess I liked Arthur and Ben? They’re both passionate and loyal with so much potential. However, their voices sounded identical to me and while that could be considered a good thing when there are two authors, for me it meant constantly having to back track to figure out who’s head I was in. Plot wise it was okay. There was a fair amount of drama, but also some really sweet moments. Oh, and there are so many Hamilton references, it’s sort of annoying. The ending was frustrating and hopeful at the same time and somehow it really worked for the story. Overall, it was just lacking for me. It took me 3 weeks to finish this and it’s because every time I set it down, I would forget all about it. Nothing pulled me back to the story. I wish I could have seen the spark that everyone else has. **Huge thanks to Harper Teen for providing the arc free of charge**
Anonymous 3 months ago
Waste of time and money. Trite.