What This Country Needs

What This Country Needs

by Aaron Tippin



For those who always thought Aaron Tippin was wasting that fantastic voice on his many trademark, but somewhat contrived "working-man" anthems, What This Country Needs is the first confirmation of his true potential for greatness. This record, his first after leaving RCA, surpasses his previous work in nearly every respect. His voice is even more sublime than before, sometimes even achieving the extraordinary richness of '70s-era Waylon Jennings. What really make this album a whole different animal, though, are the songs. Tippin's finest moments have always been his heart-on-the-sleeve ballads, like "I Promised You the World" (from 1994's Call of the Wild). There are several excellent tunes in that vein here, particularly the lump-in-the-throat-prompting "I'm Leaving," but even the up-tempo material always smartly avoids the common new-country problem of emphasizing clever turns of phrase over emotional content. The album's production, although replete with honky tonk steel guitars and fiddles, is thoroughly modern without being cheesy. Some songs even sound a little like the best work of the Eagles, except with a truly kick-ass real country singer. Whether it was increased artistic control (Tippin co-produced the album), a new label, or perhaps the birth of his child, something apparently lit a serious fire under Aaron Tippin, as this album stands head and shoulders above anything he recorded prior. Accessible, yet substantial and moving, What This Country Needs is that rare record that should appeal to mainstream country and alt-country lovers alike.

Product Details

Release Date: 10/06/1998
Label: Lyric Street
UPC: 0720616500328
catalogNumber: 165003

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Aaron Tippin   Primary Artist
Eddie Bayers   Percussion,Drums,Tambourine
Bruce Bouton   Lap Steel Guitar
Dennis Burnside   Organ,Piano
Carl Jackson   Banjo
Chris Leuzinger   Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar
Brent Mason   Electric Guitar
Nashville String Machine   Strings,Group
Michael Rhodes   Bass
Biff Watson   Acoustic Guitar,Dobro
Glenn Worf   Bass
Curtis Young   Background Vocals
Aubrey Haynie   Fiddle,Mandolin
Steve Hill   Background Vocals
Jim Roller   Slap Bass
Wes Hightower   Background Vocals
Mike Johnson   Steel Guitar

Technical Credits

Aaron Tippin   Producer
Mike Bradley   Engineer
Dennis Burnside   String Arrangements
Pat McMakin   Producer,Engineer
Bart Pursley   Engineer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews