What You Don't Know [Deluxe Edition] [3 CD]

What You Don't Know [Deluxe Edition] [3 CD]

by Exposé


$16.84 $19.99 Save 16% Current price is $16.84, Original price is $19.99. You Save 16%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Thursday, October 18?   Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Shipping at checkout.


What You Don't Know [Deluxe Edition] [3 CD]

Producer Lewis Martinee fashioned Exposé with a poppier sound on their sophomore set. The sturdy dance grooves are still there, but they're not as steeped in the nightclubs as those on Exposure. A healthy variety of strong selections are included. Among the best are the spunky title track (a Top Ten pop hit), replete with snazzy horns, a colorful guitar solo, and a fiery lead vocal by Gioia; "Stop, Listen, Look & Think," a subtler uptempo number with an understated yet memorable lead by Ann Curless; and the sultry, summertime slow-groove "When I Looked at Him" (also a Top Ten hit), on which Jeanette Jurado's laid-back performance brings to mind Belinda Carlisle. Perhaps the strongest cut, though, is the defiant ballad "Didn't It Hurt to Hurt Me." Gioia's assured, powerful delivery here makes the perfect match for the soulful melodies and honest, straightforward lyrics. (Sadly, a vocal cyst would force her to depart the group in 1991, but she would return to singing in 1997 fronting the rock band Wet.) A solid set essential for any fan of '80s pop/dance. [In 2017, What You Don't Know was reissued in a three-CD Deluxe Edition featuring 34 bonus tracks, including singles, B-sides, remixes, and alternate versions.] ~ Justin M. Kantor

Product Details

Release Date: 08/25/2017
Label: Cherry Red
UPC: 5013929438781
catalogNumber: 2943878
Rank: 29230

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Exposé   Primary Artist
Mike Bakst   Bass Guitar,Keyboards,Background Vocals
Ed Calle   Saxophone
Tony Concepcion   Trumpet
Ann Curless   Vocals,Background Vocals,Group Member
Kenneth Faulk   Trumpet
Jorge Finess   Acoustic Guitar
Nestor Gomez   Guitar
Julio Hernández   Bass Guitar
Orlando Hernandez   Drums
Jeanette Jurado   Vocals,Background Vocals,Group Member
Jay Martin   Background Vocals
Lewis A. Martineé   Percussion,Drums,Keyboards
Bobby Martinez   Saxophone
Lester Mendez   Keyboards
Wendy Pedersen   Background Vocals
Bobby Pruitt   Bass Guitar,Background Vocals
DaVonda Simmons   Background Vocals
Froilan Sossa   Keyboards
Dana Teboe   Trombone
Gioia Bruno   Vocals,Background Vocals,Group Member

Technical Credits

Mike Bakst   Engineer
Tom Kelly   Composer
Jay Martin   Composer
Lewis A. Martineé   Arranger,Composer,Producer,Engineer,String Arrangements,Remixing,Brass Arrangment,Additional Production
Richard Martinez   String Arrangements
Carlos Santos   Engineer
Cesar Sogbe   Engineer
Froilan Sossa   String Arrangements
Billy Steinberg   Composer
Diane Warren   Composer
David Frazer   Remixing
Maude Gilman   Art Direction
Bill Pitzonka   Liner Notes
Ismael Garcia   Executive Producer
Glenn Friscia   Additional Production
Vinny Vero   Reissue Producer
Andy Hughes   Engineer
Francisco J. Diaz   Composer
Dakeyne   Additional Production
Chris Drummonds   Artwork
Louie Shameea   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews