When a Woman Overcomes Life's Hurts: Discover the Healing and Wholeness God Has for You

When a Woman Overcomes Life's Hurts: Discover the Healing and Wholeness God Has for You

by Cindi McMenamin

NOOK Book(eBook)

$10.99 $12.99 Save 15% Current price is $10.99, Original price is $12.99. You Save 15%.
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details


Author Cindi McMenamin’s bestseller When Women Walk Alone (more than 100,000 copies sold) confirms her gift for encouraging women who are journeying through difficult seasons. In her newest book, she offers help for women who are dealing with wounds from unresolved issues in their past.

When a Woman Overcomes Life’s Hurts explores the kinds of hurt women experience and offers gracious, biblical counsel on how and where to find healing. Cindi shares the faulty thinking that often accompanies life’s wounds and replaces it with truths every woman needs to know about how God views her. She takes women from

  • feeling insignificant to realizing how much the Lord loves them
  • feeling undesirable to seeing their true beauty
  • feeling they’re not good enough to recognizing how special they are

This is a book filled with grace, redemption, and transformation—leading women toward a renewed focus on God, a resurgence of inner joy, and better relationships with others.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780736948593
Publisher: Harvest House Publishers
Publication date: 08/01/2012
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
File size: 840 KB

About the Author

Cindi McMenamin, an award-winning writer and national speaker, is the author of When Women Walk Alone (more than 100,000 copies sold) and Letting God Meet Your Emotional Needs. As a pastor’s wife, director of women’s ministries, and Bible teacher, her passion is to bring women into deeper intimacy with God. Cindi lives in Southern California with her husband, Hugh, and daughter, Dana.

Table of Contents

Rising Above the Hurts 7

Part I Uncovering the Wounds

1 This Wasn't Supposed to Happen: Realizing There's a Reason for Your Pain 15

2 Why Did I Have to Hurt Like This?: Reshaping Your Understanding of God 37

3 Where Was God, Anyway?: Rejecting the Lie that He Didn't Care 53

Part II Unraveling the Lies

4 I'll Never Be Completely Healed: Re-examining the Healing Power of the Cross 73

5 That's Just the Way I Am: Receiving a New Identity 91

6 I Have a Right to Be Happy: Revisiting the Meaning of Surrender 113

7 I'll Never Really Be Loved: Recognizing Real Versus Distorted Love 129

Part III Unveiling a New Heart

8 I Can Finally Be Free: Releasing Yourself Through Forgiveness 145

9 I Can Experience Joy Again: Refreshing Your Soul Through Praise 161

10 I Can Be a Blessing: Reinvesting in the Lives of Others 177

A Parting Challenge: Embracing Wholeness 195

10 Steps Toward Healing and Wholeness 199

Appendix A Self-Assessment: Are You Still Affected by Your Wounds? 203

Appendix B Scriptual Encouragement for Hurting Hearts 207

Appendix C Suggestions for Planning and Facilitating a Small-group Study 217

Notes 221

Customer Reviews