When Falcons Fall (Sebastian St. Cyr Series #11)

When Falcons Fall (Sebastian St. Cyr Series #11)

by C. S. Harris


$23.40 $26.00 Save 10% Current price is $23.4, Original price is $26. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
33 New & Used Starting at $1.99


The much-anticipated new entrée in the Sebastian St. Cyr “simply elegant”* historical mystery series, from the national bestselling author of Who Buries the Dead and Why Kings Confess.

Ayleswick-on-Teme, 1813. Sebastian St. Cyr, Viscount Devlin, has come to this seemingly peaceful Shropshire village to honor a slain friend and on a quest to learn more about his own ancestry. But when the body of a lovely widow is found on the banks of the River Teme, a bottle of laudanum at her side, the village’s inexperienced new magistrate turns to St. Cyr for help.
Almost immediately, Sebastian realizes that Emma Chance did not, in truth, take her own life. Less easy to discern is exactly how she died, and why. For as Sebastian and Hero soon discover, Emma was hiding both her true identity and her real reasons for traveling to Ayleswick. Also troubling are the machinations of Lucien Bonaparte, the estranged brother of the megalomaniac French Emperor Napoleon. Held captive under the British government’s watchful eye, the younger Bonaparte is restless, ambitious, and treacherous.
Sebastian’s investigation takes on new urgency when he discovers that Emma was not the first, or even the second, beautiful young woman in the village to die under suspicious circumstances. Home to the eerie ruins of an ancient monastery, Ayleswick reveals itself to be a dark and dangerous place of secrets that have festered among the villagers for decades—and a violent past that may be connected to Sebastian’s own unsettling origins. And as he faces his most diabolical opponent ever, he is forced to consider what malevolence he’s willing to embrace in order to destroy a killer.

*Lisa Gardner

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780451471161
Publisher: Penguin Publishing Group
Publication date: 03/01/2016
Series: Sebastian St. Cyr Series , #11
Pages: 368
Product dimensions: 5.90(w) x 9.00(h) x 1.40(d)

About the Author

C. S. Harris is the national bestselling author of more than twenty novels, including the Sebastian St. Cyr mysteries, featuring Who Buries the Dead, Why Kings Confess, and What Darkness Brings; as C. S. Graham, a thriller series coauthored with former intelligence officer Steven Harris; and seven award-winning historical romances written under the name Candice Proctor.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

When Falcons Fall (Sebastian St. Cyr Series #11) 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 14 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed the plot twists and turns. I’m not sure I’ve figured it out even after the explanation. Great read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It was a good read. It I thought it moved a little slow. But still I would recommend it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very well written. Grabs your attention from the first chapter.
EraCG More than 1 year ago
This book is one of the Sebastian St. Cyr series. C.S Harris is an Excellent Author of this historical books. I have read all of the 12 books of this series. This book have great characters, with fascinating story and mystery plot.. I would highly recommended.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I thoroughly enjoyed the historical setting with all the details. The characters are unique and feel real. Excellent plot!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Not only is the story compelling, but the historical nature's of the book is fascinating.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very good historical series. I have read all her books.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Another intelligent and multi-layered mystery from C.S. Harris. The reader is a captive audience from the first page. Sebastian and Hero are well-matched in intellect as they navigate their way to solve the murders. They are a wonderful husband-and-wife team.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Delphimo More than 1 year ago
I have always enjoyed this series set in the 1810's in England, but this novel fell flat. The story starts with Sebastian and Hero and Simon on a journey for Sebastian to learn more about his mother and her lover. That line of inquiry comes to a halt when Sebastian aids in the investigation of a murdered young woman. Harris harps about the Enclosure Act and the Bonapartes, and many other stories remain half told. I have almost decided to forego any further novels in the Sebastian St Cyr series.
RickT-1111 More than 1 year ago
I always look forward with great anticipation to the new installments in the Sebastian St. Cyr series. With "When Falcons Fall", my wait was well rewarded. Previously in the series, we see Sebastian pursue questions of his identity. That quest sets the stage for new action and added personalities in this rich series. The new people should entwine well with the next chapters, which I continue to look forward to with great anticipation. No five stars because a key character in the end was not well developed within the story.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Excellent addition to this series.
MasonCanyon More than 1 year ago
The combination of Regency England, family secrets, a dashing aristocrat ad murder mysteries makes WHEN FALCONS FALL by expert historian C. S. Harris an entertaining read. The 11th installment in the Sebastian St Cyr Mystery series, WHEN FALCONS FALL can be read as a standalone. New readers won’t have a problem keeping up while returning fans will enjoy catching up with the war-tortured aristocrat and his family. To honor a slain friend’s request, Sebastian St. Cyr, Viscount Devlin, travels to the seemingly peaceful Shropshire village. While there, Sebastian also hopes to unravel some threads of his own ancestry. When the body of Emma Chance, a lovely young widow, is discovered beside the river, Sebastian’s help is requested by the village’s inexperienced new magistrate. While the constable believes the woman committed suicide, Sebastian quickly realizes it was murder. As he begins to investigate, Sebastian finds the woman may not have been who she claimed to be, nor in the village for the reason she gave. It’s soon discovered that Emma isn’t the first, or even the second, young woman to die under suspicious circumstances in the village. Sebastian and his wife, Hero, are drawn into a tangle of passion and intrigue as they search for the killer. Readers are taken on a breathtaking adventure of suspense and intrigue in this thrilling historical mystery. The author’s eye for detail and her vivid descriptions brings the setting to life while placing the reader in the middle of the drama. Combining historical figures and settings with her characters, the author adds depth and dimension to this fascinating tale. The story takes on an added query as Sebastian searches for clues to his own family secrets. Readers will be held spellbound from beginning to end. FTC Full Disclosure – A copy of this book was sent to me by the publisher in hopes I would review it. However, receiving the complimentary copy did not influence my review. The thoughts are completely my own and given honestly and freely.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book takes our main character and his wife out of London to the quiet countryside where Devin hopes to find answers of his origin. Instead, he must solve a murder of a young woman, several villagers and two young girls who died years ago. Like all the books in this series, it will keep the reader captivated until the end