When Nobody Was Watching: My Hard-Fought Journey to the Top of the Soccer World

When Nobody Was Watching: My Hard-Fought Journey to the Top of the Soccer World

by Carli Lloyd, Wayne Coffey


$7.00 $26.00 Save 73% Current price is $7, Original price is $26. You Save 73%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Monday, August 9


A New York Times bestseller from the superstar who is going to Tokyo for her fourth Olympicsthe oldest player the U.S. women's national team has ever sent.

“If you are a real soccer player—then this is the book for you to read . . . Inspiring and uplifting. ”—GoalNation

In 2015, the U.S. Women’s National Soccer Team won its first FIFA championship in sixteen years, culminating in an epic final game that electrified soccer fans around the world. It featured a gutsy, brilliant performance by team captain and midfielder Carli Lloyd, who made history that day, scoring a hat trick during the first sixteen minutes. 
But there was a time when Carli almost quit the sport. In 2003 she was struggling, her soccer career at a crossroads. Then she found a trusted trainer, James Galanis, who saw in Carli a player with raw talent, skill, and a great dedication to the game. Together they set to work, training day and night, fighting, grinding it out. Despite all the naysayers, the times she was benched, the moments when her self-confidence took a nosedive, she succeeded in becoming one of the best players in the world and bound for the Summer Games in 2021 at thirty-nine. 

Related collections and offers

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780594829416
Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Publication date: 09/26/2016
Pages: 256
Sales rank: 82,414
Product dimensions: 6.20(w) x 9.30(h) x 1.20(d)

About the Author

CARLI LLOYD is the captain of the U.S. Women's National Soccer Team that won the 2015 FIFA Women's World Cup. She also represented the U.S. team in the 2008 and 2012 Summer Olympics finals.

WAYNE COFFEY is an award-winning sports journalist and the New York Times best-selling author of more than thirty books.

Table of Contents

Author's Note ix

Prologue: What You See Is What You Get 1

1 Beginnings 11

2 Strikers Forever 23

3 Smackdown 31

4 National Attention 47

5 One Cap at a Time 59

6 Coach's Crosshairs 67

7 World of Trouble 79

8 Olympian and Outcast 97

9 Fine China 107

10 Letting Go of Gold 117

11 Empty Cup 129

12 Wonder in Wembley 137

13 Coaching Carousel 155

14 Coaching Carousel Part II 167

15 Character Builders 175

16 Disappearing Act 187

17 Addition by Subtraction 197

18 World-Beater 205

19 Pure Gold 215

Epilogue: Priorities, Progress, Passion 223

Acknowledgments 225

Photo Credits 229

Index 231

Customer Reviews