When The Night Comes Down

When The Night Comes Down

by Joseph D'Lacey

NOOK Book(eBook)

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
LendMe® See Details
Want a NOOK ? Explore Now


When The Night Comes Down by Joseph D'Lacey, Bev Vincent, Robert E. Weinberg, Nate Kenyon

Call it what you like: dusk, twilight, sunset. It’s that magical moment between daylight and darkness when anything is possible — the evening ahead promises untold enchantment… or nameless dread.

Within are 16 tales of the oncoming blackness, including more than the usual cast of characters.

There are shapeshifters and gravediggers, but also supernatural private detectives and — perhaps most terrifying of all — beautiful creatures that prey on… horror writers. Murder, death — and things worse than death — are all waiting for you When The Night Comes Down.

Joseph D’Lacey, in stories like “The Unwrapping of Alastair Perry,” writes in the vein of the Clive Barker of the 1980s.

Bev Vincent, already renowned for his non-fiction, shows off some impressive range in his fiction — from hard-edged horror (“Silvery Moon”) to Bradbury-esque whimsical (“Something in Store”) to knowing humor (“Knock ‘em Dead”).

Legend Robert E. Weinberg delivers perhaps the all-time greatest behind-the-scenes send-up of genre convention weekends with “Elevator Girls.” And rising young gun

Nate Kenyon, in gritty stories like “Gravedigger” and “The Buzz of A Thousand Wings,” showcases why he has earned all those raves.


The Unwrapping of Alastair Perry
Etoile’s Tree
Morag’s Fungus
The Quiet Ones

Silvery Moon
Knock ‘Em Dead
Something In Store
Purgatory Noir

Elevator Girls
The One Answer That Really Matters

Breeding The Demons
One With The Music
The Buzz of a Thousand Wings

Product Details

BN ID: 2940014345705
Publisher: Dark Arts Books
Publication date: 03/12/2012
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 274
File size: 2 MB

About the Author

JOSEPH D'LACEY was born in London and has spent most of his life in the midlands. He is the author of MEAT, GARBAGE MAN and THE KILL CREW. “My mother warned me never to tell stories that aren’t true," he says. "It’s been great fun ignoring her advice.” By day he runs an acupuncture practice – sticking needles into people and making little dolls scream. Between victims he writes all manner of disturbing fiction. He lives in Northamptonshire with his wife and daughter.

BEV VINCENT is the Bram Stoker and Edgar Award nominated author of two books, THE ROAD TO THE DARK TOWER and THE STEPHEN KING ILLUSTRATED COMPANION. Since 2001 he has been a contributing editor with Cemetery Dance magazine, where he writes “News from the Dead Zone.” He has published over 50 short stories, including appearances in Ellery Queen’s Mystery Magazine, Borderlands 5, Tesseracts Thirteen, Cemetery Dance, and Doctor Who: Destination Prague. He is a member of the Storytellers Unplugged blogging community and writes reviews for Onyx Reviews. Originally from eastern Canada, he has lived in Texas for the past twenty years.

ROBERT E. WEINBERG is the author of 17 novels, two short story collections, and 16 non-fiction books. He has also edited over 150 anthologies. His most popular novels are the three books that make up the trilogy known as the Masquerade of the Red Death, published by White Wolf Books. His most popular character is detective, Sid Taine, nicknamed “the psychic detective” who appears in the novel, THE BLACK LODGE. Taine also stars in a series of short horror-mystery stories, many of which were collected in the book, THE OCCULT DETECTIVE. Bob is a two-time winner of the Bram Stoker Award; a two-time winner of the World Fantasy Award; and a winner of the Lifetime Achievement Award from the Horror Writers Association.

NATE KENYON grew up in a small town in Maine. His debut novel, BLOODSTONE, was a Bram Stoker Award Finalist and P&E Horror Novel of the Year award winner. THE REACH was also a Stoker Award Finalist, received a starred Publishers Weekly review, and is in development as a major feature film. His third novel, THE BONE FACTORY, was called “masterful” by Booklist. His fourth novel, SPARROW ROCK, was released in 2010. He lives in New England with his children and their ferocious dog, Bailey, where he is at work on his next novel.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews