When the Sun Goes Down, Vol. 3: That's Chicago's South Side

When the Sun Goes Down, Vol. 3: That's Chicago's South Side


Item is available through our marketplace sellers.


When the Sun Goes Down, Vol. 3: That's Chicago's South Side

Ask a rock & roller to discuss Chicago's contributions to the blues, and he/she is likely to talk about Chess Records and electric post-World War II greats like Muddy Waters, Howlin' Wolf, Willie Dixon, Little Walter, Buddy Guy, and Junior Wells. But the Windy City had a healthy blues scene long before the rise of Chess -- one that went back to the days of Al Capone and Prohibition. Spanning 1931-1942, When the Sun Goes Down, Vol. 3: That's Chicago's South Side spotlights the acoustic pre-Chess, pre-Muddy Waters era of Chicago blues -- an era that helped pave the way for Chess Records as well as rock & roll. The recordings on this excellent CD point to fact that, long before Chicago became synonymous with electric blues, the city had its own unique blues sound. Gems like Sonny Boy Williamson's "Good Morning, Schoolgirl" (1937), Roosevelt Sykes' "Devil's Island Gin Blues" (1933), and Tommy McClennan's "Bottle It Up and Go" (1939) are quite different from the blues that were coming from the Deep South in the '30s and early '40s -- these artists offer an acoustic sound, but a harder, tougher acoustic sound than the Southern country blues that were coming from Mississippi, Georgia, and Tennessee back then. Of course, some of the artists who blues fans associate with Chicago blues were originally from the South; Muddy Waters and Howlin' Wolf, for example, were born in Mississippi. But when Southern bluesmen moved north and interacted with Chicago-based musicians, their music could easily take on a more urban outlook. And an urban outlook definitely prevails on this CD, which underscores the richness of Chicago's pre-Chess blues scene.

Product Details

Release Date: 08/20/2002
Label: Rca Victor Europe
UPC: 0090266398829
catalogNumber: 663988

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Scrapper Blackwell   Guitar
Big Bill Broonzy   Guitar,Vocals
Leroy Carr   Piano,Vocals
Walter Davis   Piano,Vocals
Lonnie Johnson   Guitar,Vocals
Tommy McClennan   Guitar,Vocals
Roosevelt Sykes   Piano,Vocals
Henry Townsend   Guitar
Peetie Wheatstraw   Piano,Vocals
Big Joe Williams   Guitar
Lil Johnson   Vocals
Casey Bill Weldon   Steel Guitar
Black Bob Hudson   Piano
Ted Bogan   Guitar
Lee Collins   Trumpet
Alfred Elkins   Bass
Jimmie Gordon   Piano
Andrew Harris   String Bass
Will Hatcher   Mandolin
R.J. Jones   Piano,Vocals
Meade "Lux" Lewis   Piano
Horace Malcolm   Piano
Robert Lee McCoy   Guitar,Vocals
Punch Miller   Trumpet
Bill Settles   Bass,String Bass
Aaron "Pinetop" Sparks   Piano,Vocals
Sonny Boy Williamson   Harmonica,Vocals
Harry Armstrong   Guitar
Johnny Temple   Guitar,Vocals
Joe Pullum   Vocals
Robert Cooper   Piano
William Mitchell   Bass
Sam Theard   Vocals
Collins   Bass
James "Yank" Rachel   Guitar,Vocals

Technical Credits

Big Bill Broonzy   Composer
John Lee Hooker   Composer
Clifton Chenier   Composer
Louis Armstrong   Composer
Bernard Besman   Composer
Colin Escott   Producer,Liner Notes
Barry Feldman   Producer
Robert Lee McCoy   Composer
Jack Towers   Source Material
Aaron Walker   Composer
Clarence Williams   Composer
Sonny Boy Williamson   Composer
David Evans   Producer
Walter O'Keefe   Composer
Gary Kelley   Cover Art
James Oden   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews