Pub. Date:
Where the Domino Fell: America and Vietnam 1945-2000 / Edition 5

Where the Domino Fell: America and Vietnam 1945-2000 / Edition 5

by James S. Olson, Randy W. Roberts


Current price is , Original price is $34.95. You
Select a Purchase Option (Older Edition)
  • purchase options

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781933385150
Publisher: Wiley
Publication date: 07/28/2006
Edition description: Older Edition
Pages: 336
Product dimensions: 6.00(w) x 9.00(h) x 0.90(d)

About the Author

James S. Olson is Distinguished Professor of History at Sam Houston State University. He is the author, co-author, editor, or co-editor of more than thirty books, including Bathsheba’s Breast: Women, Cancer, and History (2002) which was nominated by The Johns Hopkins University Press for the Pulitzer Prize in History, won the History of Science Category Award from the Association of American Publishers, and was recognized by the Los Angeles Times as one of the best non-fiction books in America for 2002.

Randy W. Roberts is Professor of History at Purdue University and specializes in recent U.S. history, U.S. sports history, and the history of popular culture. He is the author of Charles A. Lindbergh: The Power and Peril of Celebrity 1927-1941 (with David Welky, Blackwell, 2003), Hollywood’s America: United States History Through Its Films, Third Edition (with Steven Mintz, Blackwell, 2001), A Line in the Sand: The Alamo in Blood and Memory (with James S. Olson, 2001), My Lai: A Brief History with Documents (with James S. Olson, 1998), and John Wayne American (with James S. Olson, 1996).

Table of Contents


Prologue: LBJ and Vietnam.

1. Eternal War: The Vietnamese Heritage.

2. The First Indochina War, 1945-1954.

3. The Making of a Quagmire, 1954-1960.

4. The New Frontier in Vietnam, 1961-1963.

5. Planning a Tragedy, 1963-1965.

6. Into the Abyss, 1965-1966.

7. The Mirage of Progress, 1966-1967.

8. Tet and the Year of the Monkey, 1968.

9. The Beginning of the End, 1969-1970.

10. The Fall of South Vietnam, 1970-1975.

11. Distorted Images, Missed Opportunities, 1975-1995.

12. Oliver Stone’s Vietnam.


A Vietnam War Chronology.

Glossary and Guide to Acronyms.



Map 1: Indochina, 1995.

Map 2: Vietnam, 1945 to 1975.

Map 3: Major battles of the Tet offensive, January 1968.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews