Where the Souls Go

Where the Souls Go

by Ann Hite

Paperback

$17.00
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Monday, October 22?   Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Shipping at checkout.
    Same Day shipping in Manhattan. 
    See Details

Overview

Where the Souls Go by Ann Hite

At the age of ten, Annie Todd finds not only is her mother quite mad but that Annie has inherited an unusual legacy. The ghost of a young girl visits Annie in her new home deep in the mountains of Western North Carolina, where Annie's mother, Grace Jean, has hidden them away from the life they used to know. Annie finds an unlikely ally in Pearl, a young woman who keeps house in Annie's new home. The secrets that surround Pearl take Annie's mind off her loneliness and soon her family history is revealed to her. "Instead of wind, I heard my name being called. The whispery voice came from the woods. 'Annie Todd'. My sixth sense had not yet kicked in and didn't warn me I was standing on the backbone of my history." WHERE THE SOULS GO is Ann Hite's third novel set in Black Mountain, North Carolina. Readers who loved GHOST ON BLACK MOUNTAIN, Hite's first novel, will find many of the characters familiar. This book follows three generations of the Pritchard family, not only telling the story of how Hobbs Pritchard became the villain of Black Mountain, but highlighting women's struggles in Appalachia, beginning in the Depression Era and ending in the mid-sixties.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780881465389
Publisher: Mercer University Press
Publication date: 09/01/2015
Pages: 400
Sales rank: 1,256,492
Product dimensions: 5.70(w) x 8.70(h) x 1.20(d)

About the Author

Ann Hite is the author of two novels and a novella. Her debut novel, GHOST ON BLACK MOUNTAIN, became a Townsend Prize Finalist and won Georgia Author of the Year in 2012. She is an active board member of the Georgia Writers Association. Hite lives in Marietta, Georgia.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews