Where White Men Fear to Tread: The Autobiography of Russell Means

Where White Men Fear to Tread: The Autobiography of Russell Means

Where White Men Fear to Tread: The Autobiography of Russell Means

Where White Men Fear to Tread: The Autobiography of Russell Means



Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details


An autobiography of epic scope--the riveting, controversial story of Russell Means, the most revolutionary Indian leader of the Twentieth Century.

Where White Men Fear to Tread (written with Marvin J. Wolf) tells the absorbing story of the accountant-turned-Indian activist who burst onto the national scene when he led a seventy-one-day armed takeover of Wounded Knee, South Dakota in 1973.
Ever since, Means has done everything possible to dramatize the Indian wish for self-determination, from storming Mount Rushmore, to seizing Plymouth Rock, to fighting for the rights of indigenous Indian tribes in Central America, to running for President on the Libertarian ticket in 1988. The autobiography recounts Means's remarkable story--his incarcerations in prison, the thirteen assassination attempts on his life, his intellectual transformation to an outlaw personality, his spiritual awakening, and his most recent reincarnation as a Hollywood movie star in The Last of the Mohicans and Pocahontas.
Told against a larger historical background, Means's book retells the tragic quest of Indians to maintain their cultural identity in the face of unremitting white assimilation. We come away from Where White Men Fear to Tread knowing that Means is one of the bravest patriots in American history--a man in the tradition of Patrick Henry, Nat Turner, John Brown, Sitting Bull, and Abraham Lincoln, for these men are Means's true historical ancestors. Long awaited, this autobiography takes its place among the enduring works of America's greatest political and social leaders. In the tradition of The Autobiography of Malcolm X, Where White Men Fear to Tread is one of the most socially illuminating and provocative works to come along in many years.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

BN ID: 2940151904087
Publisher: Antenna Books
Publication date: 04/30/2015
Sold by: Smashwords
Format: eBook
Sales rank: 434,263
File size: 3 MB
Age Range: 18 Years

About the Author

Russell Means, born an Oglala/Lakota in 1939, was raised on the Pine Ridge Indian Reservation near the Black Hills, South Dakota and then in Vallejo, California. Means divided his time between Chinle, Navajo Nation, Arizona, and Porcupine, South Dakota. He was married five times, and was the father of seven children and three adopted children. An activist, actor, writer, painter, and singer, Means passed away in 2012 at the age of 72. His ashes were scattered in his beloved Black Hills.

I began my career in the media as a U.S. Army combat photographer in Vietnam. Assigned to a public information section, I soon saw that writing was an important adjunct to my photo work. In Vietnam I worked for Charles Siler, one of the finest officers ever to serve his country, and had the great good fortune to meet and become friends with some of the world's greatest reporters and photographers, including Nobel laureate author John Steinbeck, Jonathan Fenby, Peter Arnett, Horst Faas, and many others. These men were generous with their time and wisdom and helped put me on the path to becoming a writer.

As I made the transition from magazine writing to longer forms, I was encouraged to specialize but found that I was interested in so many things that I found it impossible to choose only one. Instead I became a frequent collaborator, helping such notables as Native American leader Russell Means and former South Vietnam Prime Minister Nguyen Cao Ky with their autobiographies. I also developed an appreciation for suspense and intrigue that inevitably led me to write about crime. About 2001 I took a segue into film, and had a short but interesting career writing for television. That helped me to create a character that I've put into the Rabbi Ben Mysteries. The first of these books, "For Whom The Shofar Blows," debuted on Amazon.com in November 2011. Thanks for visiting this page, and remember that habitual readers are smarter and have more well-rounded personalities.

Customer Reviews