While the Music Lasts
While the Music Lasts

While the Music Lasts

by John Brooke


$13.51 $18.95 Save 29% Current price is $13.51, Original price is $18.95. You Save 29%.
View All Available Formats & Editions

Temporarily Out of Stock Online

Eligible for FREE SHIPPING


While the Music Lasts by John Brooke

When a world-famous rock star convicted of murdering his film star lover returns to his country retreat near the town of Saint-Brin after serving his time, this quiet community in the heart of wine country where Chief Inspector Aliette Nouvelle is based reacts with cool suspicion. Aliette is disturbed by the undercurrent of bitter moral outrage. When the disgraced Luc Malarmé begins to sing again, moral outrage boils over into violent acts, building to a murder.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781927426708
Publisher: Utp Distribution
Publication date: 01/01/2016
Pages: 288
Product dimensions: 6.00(w) x 1.25(h) x 9.00(d)

About the Author

John Brooke became fascinated by criminality and police work listening to the courtroom stories and observations of his father, a long-serving judge. Although he lives in Montreal, John makes frequent trips to France for both pleasure and research. He earns a living as a freelance writer and translator, and has also worked as a film and video editor as well as directed four films on modern dance. His poetry and short stories have been widely published and in 1998 his story "The Finer Points of Apples" won him the Journey Prize. Brooke's first Inspector Aliette Nouvelle mystery, The Voice of Aliette Nouvelle, was published in 1999, followed by All Pure Souls in 2001. He took a break from Aliette with the publication of his novel Last Days of Montreal in 2004, but returned with her in 2011 with Stifling Folds of Love, The Unknown Masterpiece in 2012, Walls of a Mind in 2013, which was shortlisted for the Arthur Ellis Best Crime Novel Award, and Tropéanos's Gun in 2015.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews