Whisper Not

Whisper Not

by Osi Lewin


Item is available through our marketplace sellers.


Whisper Not

Osi Lewin is an Israeli-born singer with a wide-ranging interest in music and foreign languages, all of which serve her well in her debut CD, which features the support of a solid rhythm section. She sings a hard bop classic, "Whisper Not," with authority and a touch of playfulness, while slipping as comfortably into the cool swinger "Lullaby of Birdland." She easily switches back and forth between Portuguese and English lyrics to bossa nova gems by Antonio Carlos Jobim such as "Chega de Saudada (No More Blues)" and "Chovendo Na Roseira (Double Rainbow)," while throwing in a snatch of Ravel's "Bolero" into the latter for fun. Producer Ray Passman, a noted lyricist himself, co-wrote "Elis Regina" with Meredith d'Ambrosio as a tribute to the late Brazilian singer Elis Regina; Osi's interpretation perfectly captures its essence. About the only disappointing track is Charles Aznavour's overly bland "Rien de Rien (No Regrets)," which comes across too mechanical to belong on what is essentially a brilliant jazz debut.

Product Details

Release Date: 10/07/2003
Label: Lml Music
UPC: 0711788016922
catalogNumber: 169

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Osi Lewin   Primary Artist
Marty Confurius   Bass
Benny Koonyevtsky   Percussion,Drums
Emmanuel Mann   Electric Bass
Joe Vincent Tranchina   Piano

Technical Credits

João Bosco   Composer
Meredith d'Ambrosio   Composer
Vinícius de Moraes   Composer
Bob Dorough   Liner Notes
George Shearing   Composer
Gene Lees   Composer
Yoshiaki Masuo   Engineer
Richard Rodgers   Composer
Alan Bergman   Composer
Marilyn Bergman   Composer
Alan Brandt   Composer
Robert Chauvigny   Composer
Benny Golson   Composer
Oscar Hammerstein   Composer
Jon Hendricks   Composer
Antonio Carlos Jobim   Composer
Nelson Motta   Composer
Ray Passman   Composer,Producer
George David Weiss   Composer
Doug Haverty   Art Direction
Lee Lessack   Executive Producer
Dori Cammi   Composer
Aldir Blanc   Composer
Bob Haymes   Composer
Emmanuel Mann   Producer
O.S.I.   Arranger
Michel Rivgauche   Composer
Kat Wildish   Assistant Photographer
Arthur Coopchik   Cover Photo
Joe Vincent Tranchina   Arranger
Leroy Jackson   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews