White Seed

White Seed

by Paul Clayton
4.1 6

Paperback

$12.77 $15.99 Save 20% Current price is $12.77, Original price is $15.99. You Save 20%.
View All Available Formats & Editions

Temporarily Out of Stock Online

Eligible for FREE SHIPPING

Overview

White Seed by Paul Clayton

A fully-realized historical thriller in the tradition of James Clavell's Shogun and Ken Follett's The Pillars of the Earth. (492 pages in print)

One of the most haunting mysteries in American history -- The Lost Colony of Roanoke -- comes roaring back to life in White Seed, with a compelling cast of characters, among them:

Maggie Hagger, indentured Irish serving girl, a victim of rape and intimidation,

Manteo, Croatoan interpreter for the English, inhabitant of two worlds, belonging to neither,

John White, ineffective Governor, painter, dreamer, father and grandfather,

Captain Stafford, brave and disciplined, but cruel soldier, and

Powhatan, shrewd Tidewater warlord who wages a stealthy war against the colonists.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781434851642
Publisher: CreateSpace Publishing
Publication date: 08/21/2011
Pages: 458
Product dimensions: 6.00(w) x 9.00(h) x 1.02(d)

About the Author

Paul Clayton is the author of a three-book historical series on the Spanish Conquest of the Floridas-- Calling Crow, Flight of the Crow, and Calling Crow Nation (Putnam/Berkley), and a novel, Carl Melcher Goes to Vietnam (St. Martin's Press), based on his own experiences in that war.

Carl Melcher Goes to Vietnam was a finalist at the 2001 Frankfurt eBook Awards, along with works by Joyce Carol Oates (Faithless) and David McCullough (John Adams).

Clayton's latest book-- White Seed: The Untold Story of the Lost Colony of Roanoke-- is a work of historical fiction.

Paul currently lives in California, with his son and daughter.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews