×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Why Beulah Shot Her Pistol Inside the Baptist Church
     

Why Beulah Shot Her Pistol Inside the Baptist Church

4.0 2
by Clayton Sullivan
 

See All Formats & Editions

Raised in the Primitive Baptist Church, Beulah Buchanan at age 16 marries the much older deacon Ralph Rainey to escape from her oppressive parents, thus jumping from the frying pan into the fire. Over the next six years, Beulah works in her domineering husband’s cafe all day and cooks him dinner at home every night, dutifully attends church, and falls into an

Overview

Raised in the Primitive Baptist Church, Beulah Buchanan at age 16 marries the much older deacon Ralph Rainey to escape from her oppressive parents, thus jumping from the frying pan into the fire. Over the next six years, Beulah works in her domineering husband’s cafe all day and cooks him dinner at home every night, dutifully attends church, and falls into an affair with the preacher. When she embarrasses her husband by not cooking enough food for the ravenous visiting revival preacher, Ralph "chastises" Beulah with his belt. When he tries to beat her again on another occasion, she fights back and locks him in the cooler at his cafe, where he freezes to death. This sounds like and is a Southern Gothic tragedy, but it is told in Beulah’s voice, which is innocently hilarious. Beulah is an original, but readers who liked Clyde Eagerton’s Raney and Mark Childress’s Crazy in Alabama will hear familiar echoes of those Southern women protagonists.

Product Details

BN ID:
2940012263025
Publisher:
NewSouth, Incorporated
Publication date:
03/01/2011
Sold by:
Barnes & Noble
Format:
NOOK Book
File size:
684 KB

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Why Beulah Shot Her Pistol Inside the Baptist Church 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 2 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very entertaining. Makes you root for the main character the whole way through.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago