William Shakespeare's The Phantom of Menace: Star Wars Part the First

William Shakespeare's The Phantom of Menace: Star Wars Part the First

by Ian Doescher

Hardcover

$13.86 $14.95 Save 7% Current price is $13.86, Original price is $14.95. You Save 7%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Use Express Shipping for guaranteed delivery by December 24 
Qualifying orders placed by 11:59 a.m. ET on Dec. 21 can still be sent to Manhattan, NY addresses. Details

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781594748066
Publisher: Quirk Publishing
Publication date: 04/07/2015
Series: William Shakespeare's Star Wars Series , #1
Pages: 176
Sales rank: 96,866
Product dimensions: 5.40(w) x 8.10(h) x 0.80(d)

About the Author

Ian Doescher is the New York Times best-selling author of William Shakespeare’s Star Wars® seriesHe lives in Portland, Oregon, with his family. Visit him at IanDoescher.com.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

William Shakespeare's The Phantom of Menace: Star Wars Part the First 3.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 2 reviews.
wordsandpeace More than 1 year ago
VERDICT: For fans of Star Wars and Shakespeare, this book offers a refreshing look at how it all began. Tension, suspense and humor are all present. Not to miss. Having enjoyed so much William Shakespeare’s Star Wars Trilogy, time has come to turn to the prequel! The Phantom of Menace is the first installment, just as enjoyable as the first 3 volumes! And did you see this gorgeous cover? The Chorus opening the Play sets up the tone and the drama: Alack! What dreadful turmoil hath beset The strong Republic and its bonds of peace. O’ver distant trade routs all do sign and fret As fears of grim taxation do increase. … In time so long ago begins our play, In troubl’d galaxy far, far away. p.7 Ian Doescher keeps excelling at combining the genius of Shakespeare with the masterpiece of pop culture, all in iambic pentameters. That’s quite a feat to write about anything in pentameters in the first place (have you tried?), but to retell this famous story and keep its suspense as well as the characteristics of each character is pure genius. Not to mention the fun and humor of it all! I thought it was fantastic to make Rumor into a real character, quite Shakespearean indeed: RUMOR: See how, with mere suggestion of a tax, Begin star wars that shall your eyes amaze. p. 10 They are really hilarious passages, such as this one, after a gas attack: NUTE [to battle droids] For certain they are dead by now — since these Two Jedi are not politicians, they Are not with hot air fill’d, and thus have not The stores of breath essential to survive. p.16 The author faced a special challenge with the language of the Gungans and Jar Jar Binks and turned it into something quite entertaining. I liked how Doescher highlighted the theme of duality at many levels, including Shmi’s desire to keep Skywalker to herself and to let him go at the same time.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
worse than star trek