by William Brittelle
3.0 1


$12.34 $12.99 Save 5% Current price is $12.34, Original price is $12.99. You Save 5%.
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Get it by Friday, October 27 ,  Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Delivery during checkout.



Composer William Brittelle's sophomore album, Television Landscape, is emblematic of New Amsterdam Records' style-bending and boundary-blurring spirit. Drawing on his love for a diverse repertoire of music -- ranging from the orchestral works of Debussy and Ravel to landmark rock concept albums such as Radiohead's OK Computer and Prince's Purple Rain -- Brittelle's Television Landscape is a boisterous, fully composed concept album melding lushly orchestrated arrangements featuring epic guitar and saxophone solos with unforgettably-catchy tunes. This sprawling, apocalyptic-yet-hopeful album focuses on themes of destruction and catharsis, uniquely capturing the zeitgeist of 21st century life.

Television Landscape follows Brittelle's highly acclaimed first album Mohair Time Warp, which has been hailed as "invigorating" (The New York Times) and "electrifying" (Steve Smith, for Time Out New York). Like Mohair Time Warp, Television Landscape features unique vocal performance and recording methods, which Brittlelle developed in order to continue performing following a serious vocal injury in 2004.

Brittelle’s eclectic background perfectly mirrors his wide-ranging musical tastes. A classically-trained composer, Brittelle has also worked with a number of rock groups, including a stint as the frontman for the NYC punk rock band The Blondes. His compositional mentors include Pulitzer prize-winning composer David Del Tredici, punk guitar god Richard Lloyd (Television), and Mike Longo, longtime pianist/arranger for Dizzy Gillespie. From the Label

Product Details

Release Date: 07/27/2010
Label: New Amsterdam
UPC: 0884501303460
catalogNumber: 22
Rank: 242920

Album Credits

Performance Credits

William Brittelle   Primary Artist,Synthesizer,Vocals
Kate Campbell   Piano
Megan Levin   Harp
Alex Hamlin   Flute,Baritone Saxophone,Soloist
Diane Berkun   Choir Director
Ted Poor   Drums
Lawson White   Synthesizer
Mary Jo Stilp   Violin
Matt Marks   French Horn
Mark Dancigers   Guitar
David Crowell   Flute,Alto Saxophone
Kate Sheeran   French Horn
Logan Coale   Bass
Ed Rosenberg   Tenor Saxophone,Soloist
Jacquelyn Adams   French Horn
Andrea Hemmenway   Viola
Amanda Gookin   Cello

Technical Credits

William Brittelle   Composer,Lyricist,Orchestration,Notation
Lawson White   Producer,Engineer
Stephen Taylor   Graphic Design
Anatoly Zenkov   Cover Photo,Tray Photo
Royce Jeffers   Engineer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

WILLIAMBRITTELLETELEVISIONLANDSCAPES 3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
Adam15AM More than 1 year ago
Typically, when someone describes music as "eclectic" or "all over the map" I usually turn away, as more often than not it's an unfocused kitchen sink approach which comes off as dull and scattershot. That's somewhat the case here. There are many brilliant (or at the very least intriguing) moments but just as often I'm left wondering what the decision making process was behind some of the elements (Autotune in 2010, really?). And while I can't call any parts of this album outright bad, and some of the orchestrations are really quite nice to listen to as a whole, I find the soft rock approach to some tracks (however easy on the ears) to be a bit bland. That being said though, the stylistic transitions are never jarring or forced sounding. Overall a good disc, largely avoids the "kitchen sink" trap of these kinds of releases but in the end left me a bit flat.