by The Brothers Johnson

CD(Remastered / Bonus Tracks)

Item is available through our marketplace sellers.



The Brothers Johnson's fifth album was the first not to be produced by Quincy Jones, the brothers taking the production reins themselves. Perhaps uncoincidentally, it marked the start of a severe commercial downturn for the act, with the album just edging into the pop Top 50, although it did make number ten on the R&B charts. "The Real Thing" was also an R&B hit. But despite some mild experimentation with the insertion of hard rock guitar licks into "I Want You" and "Hot Mama," as well as an unusual album closer in "Daydreamer Dream" (featuring Louis Johnson's then-wife Valerie Johnson on vocals and originally recorded by contemporary Christian group 2nd Chapter of Acts), it was not destined to be remembered even by many Brothers Johnson fans. You wouldn't think it was a minor effort in their catalog from the 2011 CD reissue, however, which has extensive illustrated liner notes with plenty of quotes from George Johnson. It also adds five bonus tracks, including the four new songs they recorded for the 1982 album Blast! (which otherwise featured five previously available hits) and the 1982 B-side "Echoes of an Era."

Product Details

Release Date: 03/08/2011
Label: Cherry Red Uk
UPC: 5013929033528
catalogNumber: 2903352

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Brothers Johnson   Primary Artist
Doug Cameron   Concert Master
James Ingram   Background Vocals
James Newton Howard   Prophet Synthesizer
Jeff Lorber   Synthesizer,Keyboards
Paulinho Da Costa   Percussion,Hand Clapping,cowbell
Raymond Crossley   Piano
Lynn Davis   Vocals,Background Vocals
Steve Ferrone   Drums
Gerald Brown   Drums
Jim Gilstrap   Background Vocals
Augie Johnson   Background Vocals
George Johnson   Acoustic Guitar,Bass,Vocals,Background Vocals,Hand Clapping,Soloist
Louis Johnson   Bass,Guitar,Keyboards,Vocals,Background Vocals,Hand Clapping,Synthesizer Bass
Valerie Johnson   Vocals,Background Vocals
Steve Lukather   Guitar,Soloist
David Paich   Synthesizer,Piano,Keyboards,Soloist
Jeff Porcaro   Drums
Greg Phillinganes   Synthesizer,Keyboards
Steve Porcaro   Synthesizer,Keyboards,Jupiter 8
John "J.R." Robinson   Drums
John Schuller   Clavinet,String Machine
Wanda Vaughn   Background Vocals
Lalomie Washburn   Background Vocals
Ernie Watts   Saxophone,Soloist
David Williams   Guitar
Becky Shaw   Background Vocals
Debbie Johnson   Hand Clapping
Eddie Noble   fender rhodes
Yolanda Smith   Background Vocals
Anne Herring   Piano
Ricky Heath   Vocals,Background Vocals
Marian Jones   Background Vocals
Day Askey Burke   Background Vocals,Hand Clapping

Technical Credits

Brothers Johnson   Producer,Engineer
David Diggs   Horn Arrangements,String Arrangements
James Newton Howard   String Arrangements
Jerry Hey   Horn Arrangements,String Arrangements
George Johnson   Composer,Producer,String Arrangements
Louis Johnson   Composer,Producer
Valerie Johnson   Composer
David Paich   Composer
Jeff Porcaro   Composer
Steve Porcaro   Composer
Jack Joseph Puig   Engineer
David Schober   Engineer
John Schuller   Composer
Pete Matthews   Tape Research,Vault Research
Chuck Beeson   Art Direction
Colin Elliot   Logo Design
Fitzgerald Hartley   Direction
Andrew Skurow   Tape Research,Vault Research
Wayne A. Dickson   Reissue Producer
Eddie Noble   Composer
Jeff Ayeroff   Art Direction
Jack Puig   Engineer
Anne Herring   Composer
Christian John Wikane   Liner Notes
Mick McGinty   Illustrations

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews