Named by the Abenaki Indians, Winooski, which means "land of the wild onion," has enjoyed a long history. Ira and Ethan Allen and their uncle Remember Baker first settled in the area in 1772. Since that settlement, Winooski has hosted various mills and factories, several churches, many stores, and an active community. The Vermont Legislature approved a change of charter in 1921, and the citizens of Winooski voted in favor of incorporating the City of Winooski at their annual meeting in March 1922. The city's mills provided economic support until 1954, when the American Woolen Mill closed. Community Development Block Grants, Urban Development Action Grants, and other investments helped to revitalize Winooski throughout the 1980s, creating new job opportunities and updating the city's buildings and infrastructure. Now, as a designated Refugee Resettlement community, Winooski welcomes refugees from around the world, accommodating various languages and cultural needs. From the blockhouse constructed by the first settlers to the Winooski Block, the vibrant river city remains home to residents who have helped shape the history of Vermont.
About the Author
Al Blondin and Anastasia Pratt, with the help of the Winooski Historical Society, have collected images to celebrate the city's history.