Winter's Dreams

Winter's Dreams

by Glen Cook



Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781596063600
Publisher: Subterranean Press
Publication date: 04/28/2012
Edition description: Deluxe
Pages: 287
Product dimensions: 6.40(w) x 9.10(h) x 1.20(d)

About the Author

Born in 1944, Glen Cook grew up in northern California, served in the U.S. Navy, and attended the University of Missouri. Cook began to write while working for General Motors at an auto assembly plant. He has published many science fiction and fantasy novels, including the Garrett P.I. series of novels about an occult-detective, and the very popular Black Company books, and the Dread Empire series. He retired from his job at GM and lives near St. Louis, Missouri, with his wife Carol.

Date of Birth:

July 9, 1944

Place of Birth:

New York City, New York

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Winter's Dreams 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
quis_custodiet More than 1 year ago
"Winter's Dreams" is a collection of mostly strong, but generally dark, short fiction by Cook. Particularly welcome are that five of the fourteen works are excellent additions to the Starfishers universe (or at least a variant of it). Unlike Night Shade Books' handling of "An Empire Unacquainted with Defeat", this collection by Subterranean Press lacks the author's introductions to the short stories or even the information on where the stories first appeared (mostly in the 1970s?). This is particularly regrettable in the case of the sixth story set in the Starfisher universe ("Dragon in the Sky"). It appears that the novel "Starfisher" is what became of this story when it was expanded out, and it should be marked here as being a 32 page spoiler for those who haven't read the series. "In the Wind" is set after the novels and has a few spoilers. Similarly "Darkwar" follows after the conclusion of the Darkwar series of novels and probably shouldn't be read until after they are (it was well written and I really enjoyed the original novels, but given how they ended I'm not sure I wanted a follow-up). Of the other stories, "Devil's Tooth" stands out as a demonstration of Cook's ability to jump in and quickly establish the feeling of a fantasy/sci-fi world. Finally, one of the stories gives Cook fans the chance to see where work from a short story set in one world became a large part of a novel set in another.