Wintertide (Riyria Revelations Series #5)

Wintertide (Riyria Revelations Series #5)

by Michael J. Sullivan
4.6 15


$9.84 $13.95 Save 29% Current price is $9.84, Original price is $13.95. You Save 29%.

Temporarily Out of Stock Online

Eligible for FREE SHIPPING


Wintertide (Riyria Revelations Series #5) by Michael J. Sullivan

A FORCED WEDDING. A DOUBLE EXECUTION. TWO THIEVES HAVE OTHER PLANS. The New Empire intends to celebrate its victory over the Nationalists with a day that will never be forgotten. On the high holiday of Wintertide the empress will be married. Degan Gaunt and the Witch of Melengar will be publically executed. Then the empress will suffer a fatal accident leaving the empire in the hands of the new emperor. It will be a perfect day. There is only one problem-Royce and Hadrian have finally found the lost heir. ABOUT THE SERIES Instead of a string of sequels The Riyria Revelations is a fantasy series conceived as a single epic tale divided into individual self-contained episodes. All were written before the first was released so that plot elements are intertwined, yet each book has its only story and conclusion. BOOKS OF THE RIYRIA REVELATIONS The Crown Conspiracy (October 2008) Avempartha (April 2009) Nyphron Rising (October 2009) The Emerald Storm (April 2010) Wintertide (October 2010 Percepliquis* (April 2011)

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780982514580
Publisher: Ridan Publishing
Publication date: 09/22/2010
Series: Riyria Revelations Series , #5
Pages: 334
Product dimensions: 8.50(w) x 5.50(h) x 0.70(d)
Age Range: 13 Years

About the Author

Born in 1961 in Detroit, Michigan Michael Sullivan began his writing career when he was just ten-years-old. After falling in love with Lord of the Rings, he sat down at his sister's manual typewriter to create a similar tale and wrote seven novels in his youth. Serious writing began in 1985 as a creative outlet while raising his family in rural Vermont. Over the next ten years, he wrote six-novels in various genres from mystery to literary fiction but obtained no traction in the publishing world. Disheartened with the process, he quit writing for nearly ten years. Michael's writing spark re-ignited in 2004 when he read Harry Potter with his dyslexic daughter. He fell in love with the story and decided to write something "just for fun" with no intention of publishing. Drawn to the concept of a multi-book series with an overarching story, he started what would later become the Riyria Revelations. Finding the project compelling and rewarding, he sold his successful advertising agency in 2006 to pursue writing fulltime. He finished all six-books before seeking publication, allowing him to weave multiple story lines told as episodes, each containing its own conflict and resolution. Signing with an independent press appealed to Michael's desire for greater creative control (Michael's artwork graces the cover of each novel), and accommodated his desire to publish the books on an aggressive one every six-month schedule. The first book, "The Crown Conspiracy", released in October 2008 quickly gained a following by both avid fantasy fans and those who traditionally avoided the genre. Crown's success is due in large part to an active on-line community with multiple review sites praising the work as a fast, fun read that returns to the hallmarks of conventional fantasy. The first printing sold out after fourteen months and a second print run produced in January 2010. Michael currently lives in Virginia, just outside Washington DC, with his wife and three children. He is currently working on editing the last three books of the series and has plans for other non-Riyria novels once the series completes in April 2011. AWARDS AND ACCOLADES 2010 Fantasy Book Critic Top 12 Novels as of First Quarter (The Emerald Storm) 2010 Foreword Magazine Book of the Year Finalist (Avempartha) 2010 Foreword Magazine Book of the Year Finalist (Nyphron Rising) 2009 Winner of Book Spot Central's Fantasy Tournament of Books (Avempartha) 2009 Top 10 Books by Dark Wolf Fanta

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Wintertide 4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 3 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Melhay More than 1 year ago
Royce and Hadrian ride in to Aquesta ragged and cold from the journey. Many people are coming to Aquesta for the upcoming Wintertide Celebration, one month away. The news has spread that Modina is to be married and the Nationalist leader Degan Gaunt will be executed, all as part of the celebrations. Melengar has fallen to the Imperial Empire. With this many worries come to mind... How's Gwen? Arista? Alric? So much to happen and worry about and questions to answer. Not only do we meet new characters, but all the old ones are back in this installment. I got a chuckle at the beginning of this book with the small group of young thieves we meet. But, by now we are all well acquainted with the characters and ready for Michael to bring them back to life for us, seeing as its been six months since I was diverse into Emerald Storm Michael does a wonderful job of quick, detailed and eventful reintroductions to refresh our memories and draw us into their dilemmas again. I was excited to be back into this world ~ its comfortable to me and I want to see where we are going with the situations the characters were left in, in Emerald Storm. As it turned out I was through this book within three days. As soon as I started, I couldn't put it down. I just had to know what would happen to these characters left in a little bit of a tight spot. Michael did a great job of setting up for this book with the previous ones and using what he had available in all aspects of the world. There is nothing new pulled out of thin air or make you wonder 'where did that come from', everything we need and know have been laid out for us, but now tied together to answer questions for us. Many of the smaller unknowns and lose ends are tied up here. All this done within a captivating story in which Michael brings all the characters together and to a demise, good or bad. As we get answers to some of the questions left open we are prepared with some thoughts and cues we may have forgotten or set aside in our minds, to be ready to dive into the conclusion of the series.