Without Frontiers: The Life and Music of Peter Gabriel

Without Frontiers: The Life and Music of Peter Gabriel

by Daryl Easlea

Paperback(Second edition)

View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, March 22

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781785588501
Publisher: Omnibus Press
Publication date: 03/07/2019
Edition description: Second edition
Pages: 448
Sales rank: 164,750
Product dimensions: 5.00(w) x 7.60(h) x 1.30(d)

About the Author

Daryl Easlea began writing professionally in 1999. After graduating in 2000, he became the deputy editor at Record Collector, where he remains a regular contributor. His work has also appeared in Mojo, Mojo Collections, various Q and Mojo specials, Prog Magazine, The Guardian, Uncut, Dazed & Confused, The Independent, Socialism, The Glasgow Herald, The Encyclopedia of Popular Music, 1001 Albums You Must Hear Before You Die, and bbc.co.uk.

Table of Contents

Prologue: A Man Who Would Never Compromise His Art For Anything 9

Introduction: A Really Interesting Life 13

Part 1 From Genesis: 1950-1975

1 Lead A Normal Life 21

2 Crying Or Masturbating, Or Both: Charterhouse 28

3 Listen And Cast Your Mind Into The Sound Spectrum 41

4 Christmas Wishes 49

5 The Famous Charisma Label 60

6 If Keith Emerson Likes Them, They Must Be Good 74

7 Always Worried About Something Or Another 90

8 Part-James Brown, Part-Chamber Of Horrors, Part-Camp Seaside Revue 101

9 Love, Peace And Truth Incorporated: Selling England By The Pound 113

10 A Yellow Plastic Shoobedoobe - The Lamb Lies Down On Broadway 127

Part 2 I Will Show Another Me: 1975-1986

11 Walked Right Out Of The Machinery 149

12 The Expected Unexpected 157

13 Keeping It Small 174

14 Happy In The Dark 188

15 A New Age Of Electronic Skiffle: Security 209

16 As Excited As We Were: WOMAD 220

17 Watch The Birdy 233

18 The Tremble In The Hips: So 245

Part 3 To Revelation: 1986-2018

19 Life Is One Big Adventure: So And Its Aftermath 259

20 Unquestionably Rhubarb 278

21 Dark And Sticky 288

22 See It. Film It. Change it. 299

23 A General Feeling Of Beautiful Dread - Up 319

24 Man Of Peace 330

25 That Sort Of Light Footedness I Enjoy Now: Scratch My Back 344

26 Happy Family Snapshot 353

27 Dream Big And Let Your Imagination Guide You 366

Afterword: Peter Is Who Peter Is 381

Peter Gabriel: A Postface by Richard Macphail 387

Discography 389

Acknowledgements 411

Bibliography 414

Index 432

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews