Free Shipping on Orders of $40 or More


by Katy Perry Katy Perry


by Katy Perry Katy Perry


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, October 6


Katy Perry achieved maturation with Prism, the 2013 album anchored on the self-empowerment anthem "Roar" and the club smash "Dark Horse." Considering how "Roar" scored the closing stages of Hillary Clinton's 2016 campaign, it would've seemed like a logical move for Perry to build upon its adult alternative affirmation but she's instead chosen to use "Dark Horse" as a blueprint for Witness, the long-awaited 2017 successor to Prism. Perhaps Perry shifted her approach after "Rise," the "Roar"-alike written for the 2016 Olympics that she also performed at that year's Democratic National Convention, failed to crack the Top Ten, perhaps she always planned to construct this album with electronic beats and synths, but Witness is so slick with synths it seems slippery. Arriving on the heels of Prism, a record littered with AAA crossover ballads, the dance-heavy Witness feels like a bit of a shock. The album is filled with songs where Perry attempts to address big cultural issues while walking a musical cutting edge. These conflicting desires surface on a tune as effervescent as "Chained to the Rhythm" -- the only track here that could be called that, although "Pendulum" comes close -- and a song as somnolent as "Bigger Than Me," the second of two ballads on the record and the one that addresses the fallout of the 2016 presidential election. Despite some sociological broad strokes, Perry generally keeps her focus personal -- and usually romantic, although "Swish Swish" plays like a swipe at another superstar -- a decision that, when married to aggressive EDM-pop, makes Witness feel very different than Prism.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 01/01/2020
Label: Universal Import
UPC: 0602557675351
catalogNumber: 5767535
Rank: 144052


  1. Witness
  2. Hey Hey Hey
  3. Roulette
  4. Swish Swish
  5. Déjà Vu
  6. Power
  7. Mind Maze
  8. Miss You More
  9. Chained to the Rhythm
  10. Tsunami
  11. Bon Appétit
  12. Bigger Than Me
  13. Save As Draft
  14. Pendulum
  15. Into Me You See

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Katy Perry   Primary Artist,Vocals,Background Vocals
Pino Palladino   Bass
Max Martin   Synthesizer,Acoustic Guitar,Bass,Percussion,Drums,Keyboards,Background Vocals,solina,Prophet 600
Edie Lehmann Boddicker   Conductor
Sia Furler   Background Vocals
Jeff Bhasker   Keyboards
Duke Dumont   Synthesizer,Drums
Ali Payami   Synthesizer,Acoustic Guitar,Bass,Percussion,Piano,Drums,Electric Guitar,Keyboards,Background Vocals,Hand Clapping
Shellback   Keyboards,Background Vocals
Peter Karlsson   Percussion
Noah Passovoy   Percussion,Keyboards
Joshua Moreau   Bass
Elof Loelv   Synthesizer,Bass,Piano,Drums
Oscar Holter   Keyboards
Casey Hooper   Guitar
Hayden James   Synthesizer,Bass,Guitar,Background Vocals
Thomas Stell   Synthesizer
Astrid S   Background Vocals
James Alan Ghaleb   Guitar

Technical Credits

William Robinson   Composer
Max Martin   Composer,Programming,Producer,Executive Producer,Vocal Producer
Alexis Taylor   Composer
Joe Goddard   Composer
Dustin O'Halloran   Arranger,Instrumentation
Sia Furler   Composer
Nicole Frantz   Art Direction
Sarah Hudson   Composer
Jeff Bhasker   Composer,Producer,drum programming
Duke Dumont   Composer,Programming,Producer
Savan Kotecha   Composer
Katy Perry   Composer,Executive Producer
Ali Payami   Composer,Programming,Producer,Vocal Producer
Shellback   Composer,Programming,Producer
Aubry "Big Juice" Delaine   Engineer
Peter Karlsson   Vocal Producer,Vocal Editing
Noah Passovoy   Programming,Producer,Engineer,Vocal Producer,Vocal Editing,Additional Production
Sam Holland   Engineer
Rob Simonsen   drum programming
Onika Maraj   Composer
Elof Loelv   Composer,Programming,Producer,Engineer
Dijon McFarlane   Composer
Corin Roddick   Composer,Producer,Vocal Producer
Ferras Alqaisi   Composer
Stephen Hybicki   Additional Production
Oscar Holter   Composer,Programming,Producer,Vocal Editing
Michael L. Williams   Composer,Producer
Noonie Bao   Composer
David Rudnick   Cover Art
Rachael Findlen   Engineer,Vocal Producer,Additional Production
Mia Moretti   Composer
Lewis Hughes   Composer
Nicholas Audino   Composer
Megan James   Composer
Hayden James   Composer,Producer
Ryan Nasci   Engineer
Kirsnick Ball   Composer
Quavious Marshall   Composer
Kiari Cephus   Composer
Illangelo   drum programming
Thomas Stell   Composer
Jack Garratt   Composer,Producer,Instrumentation
Skip Marley   Composer
Brittany Hazzard   Composer
Daryl McPherson   Vocal Engineer
Pj “Promnite” Sledge   Composer,Additional Production
Ted Lovett   Layout

Customer Reviews