by Widespread Panic


Item is available through our marketplace sellers.



Recorded live during the veteran Southern rock road warriors' 2012 tour, which represented their first ever all-acoustic jaunt, the appropriately titled Wood was culled from performances in Washington, D.C.; Atlanta, Georgia; and Denver and Aspen, Colorado. No strangers to coming up with new and inventive ways to present their enormous catalog to the masses, Athens, Georgia's answer to the Grateful Dead offers up an engaging mix of WP standards ("Ain't Life Grand," "Tall Boy," "Climb to Safety") and notable covers (John Lennon's "The Ballad of John and Yoko," Jimmy Cliff's "Many Rivers to Cross"), all of which are delivered with the same boundless energy and wily musicality, albeit of a much more elegant nature, that fuels their legendary electric performances. For any other group, a sit-down, stripped-down set of favorites would smell of a cash grab, but Widespread Panic approach the material with nuance, reverence, and whimsy. [Wood is also available in a limited-edition three-LP box set that features 180-gram vinyl, a letterpress poster, extensive liner notes, and a 12-page photo booklet.]

Product Details

Release Date: 10/16/2012
Label: Widespread Records
UPC: 0781057001126
catalogNumber: 112

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Widespread Panic   Primary Artist
John Bell   Acoustic Guitar,Vocals,Guitar (Resonator)
Col. Bruce Hampton   Vocals
John Hermann   Piano,Harmonium,Vocals,Melodica,Pump Organ,Toy Piano
Jimmy Herring   Acoustic Guitar
Todd Nance   Drums,Vocals
Domingo Ortiz   Percussion
Dave Schools   Vocals,Acoustic Bass

Technical Credits

Willie Dixon   Composer
Bukka White   Composer
John Lennon   Composer
Paul McCartney   Composer
Widespread Panic   Producer
Vic Chesnutt   Composer
Alan Price   Composer
John Bell   Composer
John Hermann   Composer
Jimmy Herring   Composer
Michael Houser   Composer
Jerry Joseph   Composer
Todd Nance   Composer
Domingo Ortiz   Composer
John Switzer   Engineer
Sonny Boy Williamson   Composer
George McConnell   Composer
Chris Bilheimer   Art Direction
Brad Blettenberg   Engineer
Andrew "Dros" Liposcak   Engineer
James E. Chambers   Composer
Daniel Hutchins   Composer
David a. Schools   Composer
Andy Tennille   Band Photo

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews