The Woodwitch

The Woodwitch

by Stephen Gregory

NOOK Book(eBook)

View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details


'A thorough reinvention of the Gothic landscape . . . Gregory's voice and vision are wholly original.' - Ramsey Campbell

'Admirable . . . a queerly intense, hothouse atmosphere.' - Newsday

'A finely written and truly creepy novel with a haunting feel for decay and corruption.' - Books

Andrew Pinkney is a young English solicitor's clerk with boyish good looks and a gentle manner. But he also has a dark side. When his girlfriend Jennifer laughs at his impotence, he lashes out in a violent rage, knocking her unconscious. At the suggestion of his employer, Andrew heads to an isolated cottage in the dark Welsh countryside to take a break and get a grip on himself. In the woods, he discovers the grotesque stinkhorn mushroom, whose phallic shape seems to rise in obscene mockery of his own shortcomings. But the stinkhorn gives him an idea, a way to win Jennifer back. As the seeds of obsession take root in Andrew's mind, he embarks on a nightmarish quest, with unexpected and horrifying results.

Stephen Gregory earned worldwide acclaim with his first novel, The Cormorant (1986), which won the Somerset Maugham Award and was adapted for a BBC film. In The Woodwitch (1988), his second novel, Gregory once again proves himself a master of disturbing and unsettling horror. This edition features a new introduction by Paul Tremblay.

Product Details

BN ID: 2940150024694
Publisher: Valancourt Books
Publication date: 12/20/2014
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 212
File size: 1 MB

About the Author

Stephen Gregory (b. 1952) was born in Derby, England, and earned a degree in law from the University of London. He worked as a teacher for ten years in various places, including Wales, Algeria, and Sudan, before moving to the mountains of Snowdonia in Wales to write his first novel, The Cormorant (1986), which won Britain’s prestigious Somerset Maugham Award and drew comparisons to Poe. The book was also adapted for film as a BBC production starring Ralph Fiennes. Two more novels, both set in Wales, followed: The Woodwitch (1988) and The Blood of Angels (1994). His work attracted the notice of Oscar-winning director William Friedkin (The Exorcist), and he spent a year in Hollywood working on stories and scripts. More recently, he has published The Perils and Dangers of this Night (2008) and The Waking That Kills (2013). His new book, Wakening the Crow, was published by Solaris in November 2014.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Woodwitch 2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
Anonymous 8 months ago
A two star book