World War II Medal of Honor Winners (1) Navy & USMC

World War II Medal of Honor Winners (1) Navy & USMC


View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Usually ships within 3 days


World War II Medal of Honor Winners (1) Navy & USMC by Robert Hargis, Starr Sinton, Ramiro Bujeiro

The Medal of Honor is the highest military award that can be bestowed on personnel in the United States' Armed Forces. This book is the first of two titles looking at the recipients of the Medal of Honor during World War II (1939-1945). It covers Navy and Marine Corps awardees in all theaters of war, from the attack on Pearl Harbor in 1941 to the brutal fighting on Iwo Jima in 1945. Among the inspiring stories told are those of Signalman 1st Class Douglas Munro, the only Coast Guardsman to ever receive the Medal of Honor, and Commander Antrim, who faced almost certain death to save fellow prisoners in a Japanese prisoner of war camp.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781841766133
Publisher: Bloomsbury USA
Publication date: 07/31/2003
Series: Elite Series
Pages: 64
Product dimensions: 7.24(w) x 9.76(h) x 0.21(d)

About the Author

Robert Philip Hargis gained a BA in History from California State University, San Bernadino. He currently works as a High School teacher, teaching US History and Western Civilization. A militaria collector for over 25 years, he also has a close involvement in living history presentations.

Starr Sinton has a Juris Doctor and Anthropology degree. He has been a military lawyer, special assistant United States attorney and an attorney in private practice.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews