Wraith

Wraith

by James R. Hannibal
3.9 14

Hardcover

$26.69 $27.95 Save 5% Current price is $26.69, Original price is $27.95. You Save 5%.
View All Available Formats & Editions

Temporarily Out of Stock Online

Eligible for FREE SHIPPING

Overview

Wraith by James R. Hannibal

Bestselling thriller writer Clive Cussler has enthusiastically endorsed WRAITH, a new techno-thriller and first novel by former Stealth Bomber pilot James R. Hannibal:

"Hannibal brings together a terrific mix of real air technology with intrigue and nonstop action. A true suspenseful story that will keep you turning the pages until the exciting finale; it really is a great tale."

Publishers Weekly gave a favorable review in its April 26, 2010 issue:

"Hannibal, a former air force officer, offers an insider's view into some of the U.S. Air Force's most intriguing weapons systems in his promising first novel, a post-9/11 thriller....Hannibal demonstrates that high-tech weapons are only tools, and that it's the people doing the fighting who win the day....will please military fiction fans."

This new military action adventure is written in the vein of Tom Clancy, Dale Brown and Clive Cussler and features a cargo load of fascinating insider insights into the secret worlds of Stealth Bomber top guns, military covert operations, and the chess-board game of modern terrorism.

Readers will be fascinated by insider knowledge about the fabled Stealth community, an elite class of only 350 B-2 pilots worldwide, of which Hannibal was trained as number 190. Because of Mr. Hannibal's former high clearances, he had to write WRAITH on an un-networked laptop and hand carry the manuscript to Whiteman Air Force Base, where security personnel "sanitized" it and approved it for release. As one reviewer says, "You'll wonder if reading it could get you arrested."

WRAITH introduces readers to an exciting new fictional aviator, protagonist Michael "Victor" Barron. Baron is an A-10 Warthog pilot and an expert in Islamic Terrorism. He struggles with the dichotomy of both an aversion to killing and a deep-seated hatred for the men who commit terrorist acts. Amidst the darkness of the 9/11 aftermath and the controversy of a fatal training accident, Victor leaves his A-10 squadron to join the Stealth Bomber, where he is certain he will have a better chance to gain retribution for the twin tower attacks. At the Stealth Wing a covert operative recognizes Victor's unique talents and recruits him into the top secret world of Operation Cerberus, an executive-directed mission to eliminate Saddam Hussein and Tariq Irhaab. Here he will pilot an experimental stealth reconnaissance aircraft called Dreamcatcher. Readers will hold onto their seats as Cerberus takes Victor from a harrowing flight high over a hidden desert testing facility to a fight for his life on the Iraqi dunes.

Readers are challenged to solve a secret message about WRAITH and its sequel encoded into the book's dedication. Hannibal used a 150-year old encryption technique to embed the code and then left clues in WRAITH's text to help readers decipher it. Try breaking the code yourself!

Author:
WRAITH's authenticity stems from James Hannibal's
experience across a 14-year military career. He is a former USAF fighter and bomber pilot with a degree in Middle Eastern Studies from the US Air Force Academy. His class was the first to formally study the then little understood emergence of Islamic terrorism. He has logged hundreds of hours as a Forward Air Controller and Flight Lead in the A-10 Warthog and as an Instructor in the B-2 Stealth Bomber. He worked as a key planner in the covert B-2 Mission Planning Cell during Operation Iraqi Freedom and uses his experience in WRAITH to explore the unique subculture of the covert world and the inner conflicts that plague every soldier who must kill and die for his country. Hannibal is currently a pilot for a major US commercial airline and serves in the Air National Guard, where he is in training to operate the US Air Force Predator.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781590957219
Publisher: TotalRecall Publications
Publication date: 05/04/2010
Pages: 354
Product dimensions: 6.30(w) x 9.10(h) x 1.40(d)

About the Author

James R. Hannibal (Lt Col, USAF Reserve), author of Shadow Maker and Shadow Catcher, is a graduate of the U.S. Air Force Academy who has flown the A-10 Warthog, the MQ-1 Predator drone, and the top secret B-2 Stealth Bomber, totaling over a thousand combat and combat support hours. He regularly reviews terrorism-related nonfiction for the New York Journal of Books.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Wraith 3.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 14 reviews.
Jenny_Rose More than 1 year ago
The book begins just before the 9/11 tragedy. The American Air Force is running training missions in Saudi Arabia and Missouri and in other locations around the globe. As news of the towers tragedy spreads, everyone pauses, trying to process the information. But when the European squadrons are left out, Michael "Victor" Baron is frustrated in Germany feeling like his hands are tied. He has been denied to fly the B-2 Stealth. Not only is he not in America or in Iraq where the action is, but as an expert in Islamic Terrorism, he desperately wants to apply his knowledge and avenge the lost, innocent lives. However, he struggles with his deep respect for life and wonders where the fine line exists between avenging those lives and just wanting to flat out kill the terrorists he had studied so long. But as the military life goes, Victor doesn't stay in Germany. After a training mission takes an unexpected turn, he is transferred to Missouri. Though he now realizes his dream to train with the B-2s, the opportunity is overshadowed by the accident and feeling like he is still benched away from the war. The war continues and airmen are called in from Missouri, Arizona, Louisiana, and Washington D.C. Victor answers the call to fight and to partake in a new top secret mission with brand new technology. While the test runs are mostly successful, the real mission encounters problem after problem that drops Victor in enemy territory staring down the enemy. Literally. James R. Hannibal does a great job of creating memorable characters, building suspense, transitioning from different points of view, and describing Air Force terminology in a way the average civilian can understand. I was only lost on a couple of flight maneuvers, but not for long. The hand-to-hand combat scenes gave me chills. This is an action-packed Air Force thriller that makes you wonder where the line is between reality and science-fiction. Though Wraith is set around the 9/11 tragedy, the focus is on the aftermath and the action the U.S. takes against the terrorists. With the different points of view, Hannibal shows the reader not only how different people reacted to the tragedy, but also how the Air Force works together as a team. This is the first book I've read by Jim Hannibal. I loved it! I will definitely be following this author and reading more of his work.
A_P More than 1 year ago
This book has amazing insight into the covert world of the Air Force. Although fiction it seems as if it could be the real deal. The character development was good the action fast paced. I kept reading into the wee hours of the morning wanting to find out what happened next. If you like techno or military thrillers this book is a must have!
AP00 More than 1 year ago
This is a great story of military fiction that has you on the edge of your seat. There is a lot of intrigue and suspense leading up to the final showdown. This book opens the door for these characters to come back and save the day again. I look forward to reading more from James R Hannibal.
ereaderSH More than 1 year ago
Bought this for my Ipod touch, read the whole book in 8 hours. Best book of the year
BookReviewer75 More than 1 year ago
This is the ebook-only prequel to the Nick Baron series and tells the story of the origins of Nick Baron's black ops crew. Hannibal digs deeper into his more traditional Air Force heritage for this one, offering intense air to ground combat, close air support, and search and rescue scenes that could only be told by a real combat pilot. The interactions of the younger versions of his characters are more lighthearted than in his other books, and young Drake Merigold is a laugh-a-minute from the moment he first appears in Nick's world. All in all, Wraith is a fun read that sheds some light on the team's covert history.
Anonymous 3 months ago
Riviting. Could not put it down.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good read. Interesting technical stuff with some good action. It started slow but kept building until it hooked me--then I couldn't put it down.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Airport City
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A little bit of a stretch, but pretty good read. Entertaining.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
For those that read this type of book it was sophomoric, and unbelievable. To place an untested air vehicle into combat is science fiction. The ending wow - where was it?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
by.