Wreck-It Ralph [Original Score]

Wreck-It Ralph [Original Score]

by Henry Jackman


$9.82 $10.99 Save 11% Current price is $9.82, Original price is $10.99. You Save 11%.
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Get it by Monday, October 23 ,  Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Delivery during checkout.


Wreck-It Ralph [Original Score]

The team behind Disney's Wreck-It Ralph, the tale of a video game villain who wants to go good, committed to authenticity at every level of the movie, from including Q-Bert and and Clyde (aka the orange ghost from Pac-Man) as minor characters to making sure the film's music conveyed the golden age of arcade games and the feel of the games that followed. Wreck-It-Ralph shows that composer Henry Jackman and the other artists featured here did an impressive job of capturing that spirit without getting geeky enough to alienate anyone not steeped in gamer culture. That said, this soundtrack relishes that culture, most notably on "Wreck-It, Wreck-It-Ralph" by Buckner & Garcia, the duo who had their fingers on the pulse of the early '80s with "Pac-Man Fever." While "Wreck-It, Wreck-It Ralph" isn't quite as charmingly wacky as its predecessor, it still harks back to a time when a hit song could be written about a video game, instead of a game including a hit song on its soundtrack. Elsewhere, the J-pop group AKB48 embodies the kawaii feel of many Japanese games with the theme song for the candy-based racing game "Sugar Rush," while Skrillex's "Bug Hunt (Noisia Remix)" delivers a more-than-reasonable facsimile of the tense, aggressive music that soundtracks the first-person shooters of the 21st century. Jackman's score mostly follows suit, especially when it incorporates electronic elements as on "Royal Raceway"'s bleepy synth-pop paradise, the brilliantly rudimentary 8-bit doodles of "Life in the Arcade," or the relentless beat of "Rocket Fiasco." However, Jackman's music also relies heavily on orchestral arrangements that, while perfectly effective and even inspired in some cases ("Vanellope von Schweetz"'s playful pauses and dynamics recall the way Looney Tunes used these kind of cues) aren't quite as distinctive as an all- or mostly electronic score would have been. While Wreck-It-Ralph misses out on being a Tron for the preteen set, the soundtrack still scores high when it comes to playfulness and devotion to its subject matter.

Product Details

Release Date: 10/30/2012
Label: Walt Disney Records
UPC: 0050087285777
catalogNumber: 001809002
Rank: 12034

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Henry Jackman   Primary Artist,Piano
Kool & the Gang   Group
Steve Kujala   Flute
Bruce Dukov   Violin,Concert Master
Walt Harrah   Tenor (Vocal)
Rick Baptist   Trumpet
William Booth   Trombone
Jacqueline Brand   Violin
Darius Campo   Violin
Wade Culbreath   Percussion
Brian Dembow   Viola
Lisa Edelstein   Flute
Stephen Erdody   Cello
Julie Gigante   Violin
Gary Grant   Trumpet
Dan Higgins   Tenor Saxophone
Paula Hochhalter   Cello
Greg Huckins   Baritone Saxophone
Dennis Karmazyn   Cello
Roland Kato   Viola
Randy Kerber   Organ,Celeste
Dimitrie Leivici   Violin
Eric Marienthal   Tenor Saxophone
Edward Meares   String Bass
Bruce Morgenthaler   String Bass
Helen Nightengale   Violin
Barry Perkins   Trumpet
Katia Popov   Violin
Jay Rosen   Violin
Geri Rotella   Flute
Kim Scholes   Cello
David Shostac   Flute
Doug Tornquist   Tuba
Cecilia Tsan   Cello
Josefina Vergara   Violin
Roger Wilkie   Violin
Elin Carlson   Soprano (Vocal)
Daniel Kelley   French Horn
Christina Soule   Cello
Donald Williams   Percussion
Drew Dembowski   String Bass
Lisa Sutton   Violin
William Frank "Bill" Reichenbach   Bass Trombone
Wayne Bergeron   Trumpet
Natalie Leggett   Violin
Gary Bovyer   Clarinet
Christian Kollgaard   String Bass
Timothy Landauer   Cello
Rafael Rishik   Violin
Leslie Reed   Oboe
Nico Abondolo   String Bass
Shawn Mann   Viola
Darrin McCann   Viola
Mike Geiger   Bass (Vocal)
David Washburn   Trumpet
David Parmeter   String Bass
Keith Greene   Viola
Eun Mee Ahn   Violin
Roberto Cani   Violin
Rose Corrigan   Bassoon
Michael Valerio   String Bass
Trevor Handy   Cello
Timothy Loo   Cello
Sarah Thornblade   Violin
Ralph Williams   Clarinet
Reid Bruton   Bass (Vocal)
Gregory Goodall   Percussion
Dave Walther   Viola
Amy Fogerson   Alto (Vocal)
Shalini Vijayan   Violin
Alyssa Park   Violin
Jasper Randall   Tenor (Vocal)
Suzee Waters   Soprano (Vocal)
Elizabeth Hedman   Violin
Claire Fedoruk   Soprano (Vocal)
Jenny Kim   French Horn
Andrew Duckles   Viola
Songa Lee   Violin
Kimberly Switzer   Alto (Vocal)
Donald Foster   Clarinet
Jessica Rotter   Alto (Vocal)
Judith Farmer   Bassoon
Lorand Lokuszta   Violin
Tereza Stanislav   Violin
Gerald White   Tenor (Vocal)
Serena McKinney   Violin
Alma Fernandez   Viola
Maya Magub   Violin
Mark Adams   French Horn
Yelena Yegoryan   Violin
Robert Brophy   Viola
AKB48   Group
Scott Graff   Bass (Vocal)
Owl City   Group
Neil Samples   Violin
Armen Ksajikian   Cello
Stuart Clark   Clarinet
Alex Iles   Trombone
Steven Holtman   Trombone
Victoria Miskolczy   Viola
Michael Nowak   Viola
Michael Lichtenauer   Tenor (Vocal)
Jim Campbell   Bass (Vocal)
Erika Duke-Kirkpatrick   Cello
Phillip Levy   Violin
Kenneth Munday   Bassoon
Amy Hershberger   Violin
Karen Hogle Brown   Soprano (Vocal)
Steven Becknell   French Horn
Tamara Hatwan   Violin
Jo Ann Turovsky   Harp
Ayana Haviv   Soprano (Vocal)
Elissa Johnston   Soprano (Vocal)
Dave Everson   French Horn
Eric Bradley   Bass (Vocal)
Matthew Funes   Viola
Cindy O'Connor   Vocals
Jon Lewis   Trumpet
Sarah Parkins   Violin
Lara Wickes   Oboe
Nike St. Clair   Alto (Vocal)
Nancy Sulahian   Alto (Vocal)
Michele Hemmings   Alto (Vocal)
Lesley Leighton   Alto (Vocal)
Karen Whipple Schnurr   Vocals
David Weiss   Oboe
Harriet Fraser   Vocals
Daniel Chaney   Tenor (Vocal)
Tamara Bevard   Vocals
Elyse Marchant   Vocals
Jessica E. Guideri   Violin
Katherine Oliver   Bassoon
Abdiel González   Bass (Vocal)
Dylan Hart   French Horn
Victor de Almeida   Viola
Alex Belcher   Guitar
Matty Alger   Percussion
Adriana Mandredi   Alto (Vocal)
Brian O'Connor   French Horn

Technical Credits

James "J.T." Taylor   Composer
Evan Rogers   Composer
Robert "Kool" Bell   Composer
Ronald Bell   Composer
George "Funky" Brown   Composer
Jerry Buckner   Producer
Scott Holtzman   Music Business Affairs
Peter Hook   Composer
Alan Meyerson   Engineering
Robert "Spike" Mickens   Composer
Chris Montan   Music Executive
Carl Sturken   Composer
Dennis "D.T." Thomas   Composer
Earl Toon   Composer
Bernard Sumner   Composer
Gillian Gilbert   Composer
Steve Gerdes   Art Direction
Brian Lee   Composer
Dave Metzger   Orchestration
Daniel Kresco   Engineering
Jamie Houston   Composer,Producer
Andrew Kinney   Orchestration
Henry Jackman   Composer,Score Producer
Earl Ghaffari   Producer
Larry Rench   Orchestration
Dan Pinder   Score
Matthew Thiessen   Composer
Jasper Randall   Choir Contractor
Matthew Margeson   Arranger
Steven Kofsky   Score Production Coordinator
Noisia   Remixing
Donna Cole-Brulé   Music Business Affairs
Adam Young   Composer,Producer
Unspecified   Composer
Yasushi Akimoto   Lyricist,Producer
Stephen Coleman   Orchestration
John Ashton Thomas   Orchestration
Lori Castro   Engineering
Skrillex   Composer,Producer,Engineering
Satoshi Noguchi   Engineering
Dominic Lewis   Additional Music
Tom Macdougall   Producer
Claydes Smith   Composer
Jimmy Tsai   Associate Music Producer
Frank J. Garcia   Score Coordinator
Eumir Dodato   Composer
Paul David Morris   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews