Xander and the Lost Island of Monsters (Momotaro Series #1)

Xander and the Lost Island of Monsters (Momotaro Series #1)

Hardcover

$16.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Usually ships within 6 days

Overview

Percy Jackson meets Hayao Miyazaki in this critically acclaimed contemporary Japanese folktale about a boy who discovers his latent powers on a quest to save his father.

Xander Miyamoto would rather do almost anything than listen to his sixth-grade teacher, Mr. Stedman, drone on about weather disasters happening around the globe. If Xander could do stuff he's good at instead, like draw comics and create computer programs, he might not be counting the minutes until the dismissal bell.

When spring break begins at last, Xander plans to spend it playing computer games with his best friend, Peyton. Xander's father briefly distracts him with a comic book about a samurai warrior named Momotaro that springs out of a peach pit. Xander tosses it aside, but Peyton finds it more interesting.

Little does either boy know that the comic is a warning. They are about to be thrust into the biggest adventure of their lives a journey wilder than any Xander has ever imagined, full of weird monsters. To win at this deadly serious game they will have to rely on their wits, courage, faith, and especially, each other. 

Praise forXander and the Lost Island of Monsters:

"With phantasmagorical environments, flying white rats, a fire-breathing bird, a giant, a snow demon, and other creepy things, there is abundant action. This retelling of a Japanese folktale celebrates courage, friendship, and pride of heritage, while featuring unforgettable characters and leaving readers eager for the next installment in this new series." -Booklist

"A breathless retelling of the Japanese legend of Momotaro, this is an Asian version of Percy Jackson; adventure fans will be waiting for more." — Kirkus

"Though the story of Momotaro is familiar to every Japanese child, Dilloway seamlessly weaves necessary background information into the fast, action-filled plot. Xander, a Japanese American boy, hardly knows the legend himself, so readers learn along with him. Xander's candid and straightforward first-person narration will instantly resonate with middle grade readers, as will his story's themes of self-acceptance and friendship. Yoon's comic-style illustrations evoke Xander's talent for drawing and bring welcome visual interest for reluctant readers. This fast-paced fantasy adventure with a foundation in Japanese culture is perfect for fans of Percy Jackson." — School Library Journal


Related collections and offers

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781484724873
Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Publication date: 04/05/2016
Series: Momotaro Series , #1
Pages: 320
Product dimensions: 5.50(w) x 8.40(h) x 1.20(d)
Age Range: 9 - 12 Years

About the Author

Margaret Dilloway has been a writer ever since she learned how to write. In high school she was a California Arts Scholar in Creative Writing and she won a National Council of Teacher English writing award. She practiced writing in a variety of forms, such as being a theater critic and contributing editor for two weekly newspapers, doing technical writing, and playwriting, before publishing three critically acclaimed books for adults, How to Be an American Housewife, The Care and Handling of Roses with Thorns, and Sisters of Heart and Snow. Her middle grade books include Summer of a Thousand Pies and Five Things About Ava Andrews. Her research for her Momotaro books included a trip to Japan and a samurai sword-fighting class. Margaret lives in southern California with her husband, three children, and a Goldendoodle named Gatsby. For more information, visit www.margaretdilloway.com. You can also follow her on Twitter @mdilloway.

Choong Yoon grew up in Seoul, South Korea. As a kid, he loved drawing animated characters and copying comic book panels. His passion for art grew until eventually he studied Fine Arts at Seoul National University. His fascination with narrative storytelling led him to transfer to the School of Visual Arts in New York, where he learned illustration. After graduating, Choong began working as a freelance illustrator of books and comic books and went back to live in Seoul. More of his work can be seen at www.choongyoon.com.

Customer Reviews