Year of the Snake

Year of the Snake

by Revolutionary Snake Ensemble


Item is available through our marketplace sellers.


Year of the Snake

On Year of the Snake, the Revolutionary Snake Ensemble met a tough challenge: to create jazz with roots in the jovial New Orleans brass band tradition, but with more than enough modern twists to make it sound fresh and original, and certainly not at all revivalist. It's not just that the Revolutionary Snake Ensemble mix original material and eclectic cover choices, including "Iko Iko," Manu Dibango's "Soul Makossa," James Brown's "Soul Power," and Sun Ra's "A Call for All Demons." It's also how they mix in a lot of contemporary soul and funk influences, particularly in some of Aaron Bellamy's popping electric basslines, almost as if they're as influenced by the Meters as Crescent City jazz. There are also some almost klezmer and tango-like lines on some of the less avowedly New Orleans-grounded work, and a healthy sense of irreverent joie de vivre in the polyphonic grooves, though "Parade" is along the lines of what you might see a struttin' band play in an actual New Orleans parade.

Product Details

Release Date: 11/11/2003
Label: Innova Records
UPC: 0726708659929
catalogNumber: 599

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Revolutionary Snake Ensemble   Primary Artist
Charlie Kohlhase   Baritone Saxophone
Mickey Bones   Percussion,Snare Drums
Larry Dersch   Percussion
Ken Field   Percussion,Alto Saxophone
Bob Pilkington   Trombone
Brian Thomas   Trombone
Karen Aqua   Percussion,Conga
Scott Getchell   Trumpet,Flugelhorn
Aaron Bellamy   Electric Bass
Eric Paull   Drums
Mark Caughill   Tenor Saxophone
Ethan Meyer   Drums
Derek VanBeever   Acoustic Bass
Jon Fraser   Trumpet
Lennie Peterson   Trombone

Technical Credits

James Brown   Composer
John Scofield   Composer
Manu Dibango   Composer
Scott Billington   Liner Notes
Ken Field   Composer,Producer
Bob Pilkington   Composer
Sun Ra   Composer
Enrique Santos Discépolo   Composer
Angel Villoldo   Composer
Chris Strouth   Executive Producer
Public Domain   Composer
Eric Paull   Composer
Derek VanBeever   Composer
Andy Pinkham   Engineer
James "Sugarboy" Crawford   Composer
Lennie Peterson   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews