You and Me, Always

You and Me, Always

by Jill Mansell

Paperback(Reprint)

$13.49 $14.99 Save 10% Current price is $13.49, Original price is $14.99. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, June 20

Overview

"...vivid and enchanting.... [You and Me, Always] can be enjoyed on a rainy afternoon with a pot of tea and some scones." — Kirkus

International bestseller Jill Mansell crafts a deliciously romantic story about love, loss and secrets that just can't be kept

Nothing stays secret forever, least of all love...

On the morning of her twenty-fifth birthday, Lily Harper opens the very last letter written to her by her beloved mother, who died when she was eight. Learning about the first and only real love of her mom's life is a revelation.

The same momentous day, Lily meets Eddie Tessler, an actor fleeing fame who could change her world in unimaginable ways. But her childhood friend Dan has his own reasons for not wanting Lily to get too carried away by Eddie's attentions.

As secrets past and present begin to emerge, Lily's not sure what—or who—to believe. But one thing is clear: in the beautiful Cotswold village of Stanton Langley, nothing will ever be the same again...

Praise for Making Your Mind Up:
"Mansell's gentle humor and enormous heart always ensure a treat for her readers." —RT Book Reviews, 4 stars

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781492638858
Publisher: Sourcebooks
Publication date: 07/05/2016
Edition description: Reprint
Pages: 384
Sales rank: 643,009
Product dimensions: 5.20(w) x 7.90(h) x 1.20(d)

About the Author

With over 10 million copies sold, New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Jill Mansell writes irresistible and funny, poignant and romantic tales for women in the tradition of Marian Keyes, Sophie Kinsella and Jojo Moyes. She lives with her partner and their children in Bristol, England.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

You and Me, Always 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 8 reviews.
aharey More than 1 year ago
Whenever I pick up a Jill Mansell book, I know that I'm in for a treat. You and Me, Always did not disappoint. The story begins when Lily Harper turns 25 and reads the last birthday letter from her mother, who passed away when she was 8. She soon meets a movie star, Eddie, who is hiding from the press in her best friend's flat. What I really enjoyed was how the story was told from different characters' perspectives. The story isn't just about LIly- it's about the little family of friends she's spent her life with. Although the story could've been trite, it really presented each character in a realistic way. I really enjoyed it a lot! I received a free copy of this from the publisher.
WhisperingStories More than 1 year ago
When Lily was just 8 years old her mother died, leaving her friend’s mother, Coral, to bring her up. Every year on her birthday, Coral has presented Lily with a letter and a special gift that her mum left for her, signed ‘you and me, always’. These letters and gifts have been coming for the last 16 years, and now that she has turned 25, the 17th and last letter and gift, has been given to her containing some very interesting information about her mum’s true love, the one she let slip away. Lily decides that she can’t let this man live on without him knowing how her mother really felt about him, and she would like to find out from him, all about his and her mothers’ time together. But will he want to know? This is the first book that I have ever read by Jill Mansell, and I doubt it will be my last. The book centres around Lily and her friends in the countryside setting of Stanton Langley. Lily is such a lovely, polite, hard-working and beautiful young woman, who even-though she had a truly awful time as a child, losing her mum, she has turned out to be just the woman her mum would be proud of. As well as Lily, we are introduced to the villagers, including her best friend and hairdresser, Patsy, Patsy’s brother Dan, the philander, who also just happens to be gorgeous, and a pilot. There is also Coral, Lily’s surrogate mother, alongside a few out-of-towners, including a very famous film star who is trying to hide from the press. From the very first page I found myself engrossed in Lily’s life. Told in the third person, the book also has you getting to know and care about the rest of the characters, as each are given their own voice and don’t fall by the wayside, overshadowed by Lily. The story will play with your emotions and have you laughing one minute (Patsy and her dating comes to mind), to sobbing your heart out the next. ‘You and Me, Always’ is a beautiful story about love, loss, family and friendships, and will have you realising just how precious life is.
feather_lashes More than 1 year ago
Did you ever watch the movie Win a Date with Tad Hamilton? This movie will cure a bad mood like nobody's business and it happens to be my priority chick-flick when I'm home sick. You And Me, Always reminded me of that movie so much. Of course, there are huge differences in the details and themes but it's basically about an A-list movie star whose presence in a small town shakes things up, specifically with one ordinary girl and her friends. The author Jill Mansell incorporates several additional plot lines in this book that created more length than necessary in my opinion, but overall, I enjoyed You And Me, Always and would recommend it to fans of the chick-lit genre. My favorite quote: "There were so many what-ifs; life was like a ball of string with three hundred ends."
PegGlover More than 1 year ago
You and Me Aways is a delightful, entertaining and superbly crafted novel. I devoured every page of this sweet and humorous love story. It was Lily Harper’s twenty-fifth birthday and although, she was tearful; she was savoring her last birthday letter. Her mother had written birthday letters, in advance, before she died, to be opened, one each year on Lily’s birthday. Coral, Lily’s mother’s best-friend took Lily in and raised her since she was eight-years-old. Patsy, Lily’s babysitter, was also a loving influence, and her younger brother, Dan became Lily’s best friend. Stanton Langley was a small English town where Lily lived and worked; It was also the town where movie star, Eddie Tessler chose to have his hide-out. Through unusual and funny circumstances, Eddie and Lily meet and form a close bond. Lily couldn’t understand, though, why her best childhood friend, Dan, was being so stinky about it. Dan and his sister Patsy both had deep secrets that they were hiding. Unfortunately, for them, secrets have a way of coming to light and being exposed at the worse times. In Lily’s birthday letter, her mother revealed the name of the man who was once the love of her life. Out of curiosity and wanting to hear more about her mother, Lily contacted Declan Madison, her mother’s greatest love. Lily was ecstatic when she met Declan Madison, and Declan knew without a doubt that his life would never be the same again. You and Me Aways is a laugh-out-loud funny story with quirky well-developed characters, witty dialogue and humorous situations. If you enjoy light, funny romances, then you’re going to love, You and Me Always. I highly recommend giving this well-crafted book a read. I received this ARC from the publisher, via Edelweiss, in exchange for an honest review.
SJMusk More than 1 year ago
I absolutely love Jill Mansell's books and this one is added to the list. She creates a world with main and satellite characters the are engaging drawing you into their world. And what a wonderful world it is. I think after reading this new book I have to revisit some of her other books, I have them all. I am sure you will love this book as much as I did and she will be added to you automatic buy authors. She is one of mine.
Deb-Krenzer More than 1 year ago
I love Jill Mansell. It's funny, but I have never read her before and it seems like in the last 2 years I've read several of her books. However, while this one was good, it just kind of flowed with the stream for me. It wasn't a bad book, but I've read better by her. That's not to say that I didn't enjoy the book, I did. I just didn't get the feel I usually do when reading her books. For me, this one didn't give me that tingly feeling I usually get at the end of her books. Will I read her next book? Heck yeah. Thanks Sourcebooks and Net Galley for providing me a free e-galley in exchange for an honest review.
BoundlessBookaholic More than 1 year ago
So freaking good! I loved like all the characters, with the exceptions of a few. It was a bit weird with all the POVs at first but I quickly grew used to it. I loved how everyone's stories intertwined and came together in the end. 5 stars. Lily was an amazing character, I loved Dan. Coral/Patsy were fantastic, etc. Patsy's dates were kind of hilarious because I feel like dating nowadays sucks, just like all her experiences. I loved the happy ending. Another home run for Jill Mansell.
jeanniezelos More than 1 year ago
You and Me, Always,  Jill Mansell Review from Jeannie Zelos book reviews Genre:Romance,   Well, confession time – I’ve never read a Jill Mansell novel before. Shocking! I can hear gasps of disbelief and horror reverberating across the globe. Still, that's rectified now :-) and I’ve joined the legions of fans of her writing. Its a great read, primarily about Lily but bringing in so many other people. I love the way each incident has a knock on effect, brings in past events and more characters. I loved Lily and her friends/substitute parents growing up, Patsy and Coral. They were such beautiful, long lasting relationships considering the tragedy of Lily’s mum who died early, and dad who wanted nothing to do with her or the pregnancy...Lily had grown up minus her parents, but surrounded but love and support. There’s a saying along the mines of “it takes a village to bring up a child” and its certainly true for Lily. Her mum’s letters have finally ended, and this last one gives her a clue to her mum’s past, which she eagerly grabs as she wants to know more about her. It brings in the wonderful Declan, who quickly falls in love with the village and its inhabitants. Then there’s Eddie, wonderful man who adores Lily, and loves that she treats him as Eddie the man and not Eddie the movie star. Those first few days where he’s joining in their card games and wine drinking were such fun! There’s also Lily’s long held, hidden crush, Patsy’s brother Dan, who I just loved, so close to Patsy and such a wonderful brother and man. The events that happen also bring some nasties out of the woodwork too though,  and show the depths people will plunge to when money is waved. It also dredges up some long hidden secrets and surprises. Its a wonderful, well rounded read with realistic characters and events, and romances the make the reader fell a satisfied “Ah” at the end. Its a story to pick up when you want an easy to follow novel, with events that will make you smile, a book to take you away from your own problems and lose yourself in some fictional characters ones.. Stars:Five, a terrific summer read ARC supplied by Netgalley and publisher