You, Forever

You, Forever

by Sam Evian


$12.35 $13.99 Save 12% Current price is $12.35, Original price is $13.99. You Save 12%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, October 24


You, Forever is the second album from Sam Evian, the solo alias of Celestial Shore frontman Sam Owens. It features nearly the same core group of backing musicians from his debut, 2016's Premium, including bassist Brian Betancourt (Hospitality, Here We Go Magic), drummer Austin Vaughn (Happy Place, Here We Go Magic), and singer Hannah Cohen, as it doubles down on his distinctively mellow, '60s- and '70s-vintage sound. This time around, after demoing the songs with a four-track tape machine, he borrowed an eight-track reel-to-reel recorder to capture the official takes with his band. Other touches included a ban on tuning pedals with an eye to re-creating a '60s recording environment. It all goes to reinforce a sound-defining warmth built by textures like slide guitar, Fender Rhodes, shaker, and ethereal octave vocals in addition to strummed acoustic guitar on the opening "IDGAF." That song's hazy glow extends across the whole album, where a consistent palette nestles in alongside Owens' feathery voice. "Next to You" adds trotting woodblock and shimmering strings for a still delicate but more cinematic feel, while "Apple" strips its arrangement down to arpeggiated acoustic guitar and light drums and bass under lyrics that serve to amplify the dreamy ambience ("I just need a place to rest my head/To close my eyes and leave/To close my eyes and see"). There are livelier moments on the album, such as the bouncy "Country" and edgier "Health Machine," but a soft focus and amber-tinted luster endure. In a seeming tribute to components of his sound, the whispery, barely smoldering "Katie's Rhodes" closes the album with a tapped cymbal and sustained extended chord on the Rhodes, as the last embers fade to black.

Product Details

Release Date: 06/01/2018
Label: Saddle Creek
UPC: 0648401026528
catalogNumber: 101265
Rank: 281548

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Sam Evian   Primary Artist
Adam Brisbin   Electric Guitar,Beatbox
Hannah Cohen   Vocals
Austin Vaughn   Percussion,Drums,Tambourine,Hand Clapping,Shaker
Brian Betancourt   Acoustic Guitar,Bass,Bongos,Electric Guitar,Hand Clapping
Eddie Barbash   Alto Saxophone,Soloist
Sam Owens   Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar,Tenor Saxophone,Vocals,Mellotron,Slide Guitar,Hand Clapping,fender rhodes,Mini Moog,Guitar (12 String Electric)
Zannie Owens   Vocals
Oliver Hill   Violin,Viola
Nate Mendelsohn   Alto Saxophone

Technical Credits

Sam Owens   Composer,Producer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews