YRM (Your Righteous Mind)

YRM (Your Righteous Mind)

by Donald Lawrence & Co.


Item is available through our marketplace sellers.


YRM (Your Righteous Mind)

Having previously released The Law of Confession, Pt. I in 2009, Donald Lawrence & Co. eschew a Pt. II for the moment in favor of 2011's equally conceptual choral gospel collection YRM (Your Righteous Mind). Lawrence, serving as usual as a combination singer, preacher, and master of ceremonies, has some involved ideas to get across, an early one being "You're not a natural being having a spiritual experience, but you're a spiritual being having a natural experience," a statement he makes initially in the lead-off title song and elaborates on during the next track, "Spiritual." That song has a slow soul-funk groove reminiscent of Sly & the Family Stone, and elsewhere, Lawrence makes his musical influences clear, beginning with a cover of Walter Hawkins' "When the Battle Is Over" by declaring, "We gonna take you back to the '80s," and remaining in that decade for a cover of Chaka Khan's 1985 hit "Through the Fire," sung by Tobbi White-Darks and Tommi White. In context, the secular lyric can be taken as directed to God instead of a lover, much like many CCM lyrics that sound like love songs. Most of the time, Lawrence has weightier matters on his mind, however, as he takes on the notion of religious belief as transcending mere human logic in "Not Making Sense, Making Faith." But however theological the underpinning may be, Lawrence and his singers and choir never forget to be entertaining and uplifting. By the end, they are declaring "We Agree" and adding, "Anything is possible."

Product Details

Release Date: 08/09/2011
Label: Verity
UPC: 0886976750725
catalogNumber: 767507

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Donald Lawrence & Co.   Primary Artist
Jeff Coffin   Baritone Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone
Lawrence Jones   Guitar
Kim McFarland   Group Member
Tracy Silverman   Violin,Viola
Daniel Weatherspoon   Keyboards
Eric Thomas   Organ
Calvin Rodgers   Drums
Roy Agee   Trombone,Bass Trombone
Latrice Pace   Group Member
Vincent Gardner   Trombone
Philip Feaster   Keyboards
Derrick Ray   Bass
Isaiah Sharkey   Guitar
Doug DeHays   Baritone Saxophone
Blanche McAllister   Group Member
Mike Smith   Group Member
Phillip Lassiter   Trumpet,Flugelhorn
Saunders Sermons   Trombone
Dante Hall   Group Member
Floyd Wilkinson   Group Member
Tommi White   Group Member
Dawn Jordan   Group Member
Tobbi White-Darks   Group Member
Anita Wilson   Group Member
Nick Marchione   Trumpet
Tavarius Johnson   Drums
Curtis Moore   Organ
Rodney Jones   Bass

Technical Credits

Walter Hawkins   Composer
David Foster   Composer
Javier Solís   Percussion Arrangement,Percussion Engineer
Percy Bady   Producer
Cynthia Weil   Composer
Donald Lawrence   Composer,Producer,Executive Producer
Calvin Rodgers   Producer
Mike Cunningham   String Arrangements
Tom Keane   Composer
Philip Feaster   Producer
Michael Thompson   Guitar Arrangements,Guitar Engineer
Jeff Breakey   Engineer,Vocal Engineer
Phillip Lassiter   Horn Arrangements,String Arrangements
James "Jazzy" Jordan   Executive Producer
Derick Thomas   Composer
Daryl L. Coley   Composer
Denise Trotman   Art Direction
Cole Patteson   grooming
Michael A. Brooks   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews